Authentic Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've made this recipe several times now and haven't changed a thing. I think it's a fantastic recipe; my family loves it and i've recommended it to others. I usually double the recipe to freeze some for later. They reheat really well in a lightly oiled pan. I do press the extra water out after shredding the potatoes and it helps tremendously with the excess water problem that another reviewer complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was a fine recipe, Authentic is not the right words though. There would be no fresh dill at the particular season these tasty taters were most frequently enjoyed which is winter not spring and summer as much. not to mention the oils and such but it was alright. Dill's flavour can hardly hold up because it is not a hardy herb meant for the extended high heats for frying. use herbs from a woody stalk if you want more flavour. Oregano, marzipan, etc. I prefer to salt my potato cakes after frying but that's just me. anways that's all for now sorry if this offends anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a perfect! My daughter hates and is allergic to eggs, an this is the only Latkes recipe that does not call for eggs. Look forward to make!! Also love the use of carrot and greens in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I used this recipe with my cooking group of junior high students. For the authentic version make a apple compote sauce to serve with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintychic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
awesome...hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I love these, they are my family's favourite breakfast. I decided to bake them this time on a cookie sheet with one of those plastic non-stick things on the cookie sheet so there's no sticking. I spread the potato mix over it without any spaces and made it flat. Then baked it at 350 for 40 mins. You lose some of the fried flavour, but it seems healthier to me. I used a pizza cutter to split them into wafer sized pieces. This way if much less work than frying and actually takes about the same amount of time because you can only fry about 2 or 3 at a time and each of those takes about 5-6 mins and smokes up the room pretty good. I will probably still bake and fry depending on what I want. I have never added the bread crumbs and use some eggs in it. The recipe is very versatile and you can mix up the amount of ingredients all over the place and it will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
These were really good, although the lemon juice was really overwhelming after the first few bites (but maybe I added too much?). I also had to throw in an egg to get everything to stick together. I don't know if I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fantastic. I followed the recipe and then added a teaspoon of monosodium glutamate to address the flavour issues. Quite a bit of work (potato grating) but worth the effort if you have the time. :) Grandma sure knew what she was doing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States