Authentic Pizza Margherita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very quick, easy and came out great. I preheated my oven a bit before placing the bowl of dough in it and it doubled in about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This makes a delicious pizza. It takes some time and effort but well worth it. I followed as directed and had excellent results. My first time baking a pizza on a stone, will not make one any other way now. I made only 1 pizza, wrapped remaining 3 balls with plastic wrap and put in fridge. Next day removed one, let come to room temp and punched back down. Made pizza, came out as perfect as the first. The whole family loved this pizza. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I don't have an alias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Readstown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I substitute 1/4 cup cornmeal for flour. I've also found that whole milk mozzarella is easier to handle in a semi-frozen state and I cube it instead of just slice it. My "pizza sauce" is little more than a can of drained plum tomatoes which I puree with an immersion blender and add a little bit of olive oil, black pepper, a pinch of sugar and a pinch of sea salt. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Pontificator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have to ask, did a lot of you buy the pizza dough? I rechecked the ingredients over and over....this dough was totally unworkable. I'm confused as to why this wasn't a problem for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious and fresh! I did not use pizza sauce, instead I used sliced homegrown tomatoes that I lightly salted and let drain in a strainer to get the excess liquid out. The dough was super easy to make and I used whole wheat flour to replace a cup of AP flour. So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
this recipe was great, I used a small amount of honey in place of the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This pizza was delicious but I couldn't quite figure out how to get the sliced mozzarella to cover the entire pie once cooked. I followed the directions but my pizza was not covered in the cheese. Next time I may opt for shredded mozzarella instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yum. My favorite pizza. Plain and delicious. No need for all sorts of add-ons. Please make your own sauce though because something this simple demands quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Best recipe for pizza ever!! The dough came out perfect. We used home grown veggies on it and it came out perfect. I love this recipe. God Bless the one who developed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is EXCELLENT!! It is our new favorite pizza! Make sure the water is about 110 degrees to activate the yeast. We have tried this with several different toppings and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States