Authentic Pizza Margherita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I have now made this recipe many times. It IS great and just like a Margherita pizza should be. I made only a few changes. First off I only use 3 cups of flour, anymore makes it dry and unmanageable. I use quick rise yeast too. I also use my food processor to do the dough which works great. I divide mine in HALF. I found them to be too small if divided into 4. I also just use a pizza pan and not oven tiles. I just keep an eye on it but it takes about the same time to bake. I also put a few more Basil leaves on because the shrink when baked. So I put on at least 8. The mozzarella even in large slices should melt down and spread out but if that doesn't work for you tear it into smaller pieces and dot it all over. Just do not use too much or it can make the pizza too WET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Ouala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Love this recipe, first time making pizza crust and it is better than any I have eaten from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
mmmmmmm yummy! time consuming but came out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have to ask, did a lot of you buy the pizza dough? I rechecked the ingredients over and over....this dough was totally unworkable. I'm confused as to why this wasn't a problem for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
i love this pizza so much. it is on my list of favorites.i cook it long enough so that parts of the cheese is a dark brown but not the whole pizza. anybody who doesnt try this has to be crazy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious and fresh! I did not use pizza sauce, instead I used sliced homegrown tomatoes that I lightly salted and let drain in a strainer to get the excess liquid out. The dough was super easy to make and I used whole wheat flour to replace a cup of AP flour. So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I substitute 1/4 cup cornmeal for flour. I've also found that whole milk mozzarella is easier to handle in a semi-frozen state and I cube it instead of just slice it. My "pizza sauce" is little more than a can of drained plum tomatoes which I puree with an immersion blender and add a little bit of olive oil, black pepper, a pinch of sugar and a pinch of sea salt. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Pontificator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This pizza was delicious but I couldn't quite figure out how to get the sliced mozzarella to cover the entire pie once cooked. I followed the directions but my pizza was not covered in the cheese. Next time I may opt for shredded mozzarella instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yum. My favorite pizza. Plain and delicious. No need for all sorts of add-ons. Please make your own sauce though because something this simple demands quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Had to substitute flour based on what I had on hand: 2c unbleached white all purpose flour, 3/4c whole wheat bread flour, 3/4c whole wheat pastry flour. As I was adding the flour, needed to add about 1/4 extra water to blend in all the flour (may be my local climate since I've noticed this with other bread and pizza dough recipes). Used slightly warm water, around 100-105degF and used about 1 tsp of honey instead of sugar. Warmed oven to 170 deg F then turned off and put the dough in there to rise. Topped with tomato sauce, pepperoni, sauteed broccoli, and mozzarella. Cooked at 430 deg F on a nonstick baking pan for 15 min. Made a nice thin crust. It was pretty good but not amazing. I'll try it again next time using all white flour not the wheat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States