Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is pretty authentic. I've seen a few "Viet" recipes submitted here which use ingredients that don't belong but I don't fault them since they are probably not Viet. The only thing this is missing is a few spices which are commonly used in pho but it is all dependent on your taste. Typically cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, and probably a few others I can't remember now are also used. I've made pho for years and have yet to come up with my perfect spice ratio. It makes a big difference :) Another reviewer mentioned that their pot came out too oily. There a few ways to remove it. You can increase your knucklebone to marrow bone ratio (more knuckle). Or you can get a very fine mesh strainer sold at most Asian grocery stores and when you skim the scum out it is also fine enough to remove oil or just use a spoon to remove. Another method is to let the pot cool, then put it in the refrigerator for a few hours. The oils will harden and it can then be removed before you warm up the pot again. The last thing is that you can probably get away with simmering for 3-4 hours but of course longer is better and you'll have to add more spices/salt to make up for it. He simmers for a super long time which is why he used less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made it exactly as written and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is definitely, as the name implies, authentic tasting! I followed the recipe exactly, and it worked out well, with the exception that I would add less salt initially and let everyone taste and add as they desire, since most fish sauce and other add-ins are also salty. One caveat--the broth ends up with quite a bit of fat in it from the marrow in the bones. (This, even though I used grass-fed beef, which is generally leaner). In fact, when you eat the broth, a thin coating of fat stays on your lips. Great, if you are a poor peasant in Vietnam. Not so great for me, I thought. Simple solution-- make the recipe a day ahead, and chill the broth after straining. Then skim the hardened fat off the broth before reheating and proceeding with the recipe. This recipe is a great one for older children to make, if nothing else, as a reminder of how many people in this world cannot afford to waste any part of an animal, including the bones. Also a lesson in respect for any animal that died to feed you i.e. don't waste it! Also a good introduction to ethnic cuisine, and they can leave out the veges if they choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Taste was wonderful - but it turned out a bit oily/greasy. Have looked back over the recipe and not sure what I did wrong. Can you advise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Little late to the ballgame here, first post... but to those complaining about it coming out greasy/oily: when making a broth or stock, you should ideally skim the fat off the surface a couple times an hour with a ladle or large spoon to remove. Great recipe, I didn't blacken the onion as I find it greatly reduces the flavor and added a stalk of bruised lemon grass for the last 30 minutes of simmer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So Good! My boyfriend will drive 2 hours for good pho. I made this for Valentines and he actually said it was the best he'd ever had. He's a chef so if he says its good, then its really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I agree with several of the other comments that it turned out a bit greasy, which, as another commentor pointed out, is easily resolved after the fact, but just be aware that if you don't want it greasy, you'll have to fix it. I also thought that for the amount of time you had to cook it, it didn't really have a ton of flavor, and I personally felt that it needed a lot more salt. My husband is a chef, however, and he absolutely loved it, so I've given it a 4/5. He also pointed out that I probably boiled it a bit too hard, which makes the broth cloudy. He said 'simmer it really low and don't stir it, and you'll have a nice, clear broth'. FYI. Anyway, in the end, once you add all the accoutrements, it's pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sydow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Great easy recipe. As is, it only deserves 4 stars because of some small things missing. I have an asian market close by where they sell EVERYTHING you need to cook asian. If you have access to one of these markets, you can modify this recipe for under 10$ and it will make it a perfect 5 star. This recipe lacked 2 major things, salt and flavour. As written, it makes a great soup base but even 8 hours into cooking, the broth is tasteless. In order to make it better, i replaced the salt with dried pho broth mix, it basically condensed broth with salt. It not only adds the precious saltyness this recipe needs but also makes the broth tastier. I added about 5 tablespoons for the above recipe. Also, you can buy ready-made pho chinese spices. It's a small pouch full of spiced that will compliment any pho recipe, basically star anise, dried coriander and fennel seeds, whole shichuan peppercorn, cinnamon and cloves. This is a must have, a small packet costs less than 2$ and add so much personality to the broth. I also love my pho with beef tendon, so I blanched tendon right before starting the broth and added it to the broth mix for the full 8-10 hours of cooking time. This maked the tendon as tender as jello and goes well with the beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P'Trique Polish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I'm currently making this for the first time, and I will come back to update when I taste the end product. I simmered the bones for awhile and the broth ended up being too strong. I watered it down to taste, measured the broth to see how much there was, and it's right around 7 cups. So, for my own notes and as a point of reference for other people who try this, you'll want to add enough water to make 7 cups of broth after you strain the bones and such out of the broth. Adjust to your preference from there, boiling off water or adding water. I simmered the bone broth for about 7-8 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I am a big fan of Thai food, especially Pho, but this recipe did not work out for me. I baked the soup bones and then simmered per the recipe. The bones were fresh but the smell and taste were not like I've had in a restaurant. Also had a lot of grease. I poured it out. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States