Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I need help wit this recipe I've followed it to the t and its just comin out to oilie badddd I thought it wasn't hott enough can some one help me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emprez hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good, if you use beef ribs and beef broth gives great beefy flavor. I used some beef base for a little extra flavor then poured through cheese cloth to get the fat and bones. Added two teaspoons of garlic and Chinese five spice. Very clear broth with lots of flavor. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This tasted very much like the pho i get from local restaurants. The biggest difference is the noodles. I assume restaurants use fresh noodles. I'm happy to know how this delicious soup is made, but from now on I'll leave all the hassle to the many vietnamese restaurants here in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I am a big fan of Thai food, especially Pho, but this recipe did not work out for me. I baked the soup bones and then simmered per the recipe. The bones were fresh but the smell and taste were not like I've had in a restaurant. Also had a lot of grease. I poured it out. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I must admit that it is missing some few authentic ingredients but it still tastes awesome either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Great easy recipe. As is, it only deserves 4 stars because of some small things missing. I have an asian market close by where they sell EVERYTHING you need to cook asian. If you have access to one of these markets, you can modify this recipe for under 10$ and it will make it a perfect 5 star. This recipe lacked 2 major things, salt and flavour. As written, it makes a great soup base but even 8 hours into cooking, the broth is tasteless. In order to make it better, i replaced the salt with dried pho broth mix, it basically condensed broth with salt. It not only adds the precious saltyness this recipe needs but also makes the broth tastier. I added about 5 tablespoons for the above recipe. Also, you can buy ready-made pho chinese spices. It's a small pouch full of spiced that will compliment any pho recipe, basically star anise, dried coriander and fennel seeds, whole shichuan peppercorn, cinnamon and cloves. This is a must have, a small packet costs less than 2$ and add so much personality to the broth. I also love my pho with beef tendon, so I blanched tendon right before starting the broth and added it to the broth mix for the full 8-10 hours of cooking time. This maked the tendon as tender as jello and goes well with the beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P'Trique Polish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm not a cook, but I actually did a pretty awesome job! My husband loves it. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The flavors were excellent. I would recommend simmering the broth longer than six hours, as it did not reach the level of richness I wanted in that time period. I would also make sure the stock is very hot before finishing the bowls. I used large bowls and added additional veggies and the stock was not hot enough to bring everything up to temp. That said, I will make this again and correct my first time mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Proctor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Little late to the ballgame here, first post... but to those complaining about it coming out greasy/oily: when making a broth or stock, you should ideally skim the fat off the surface a couple times an hour with a ladle or large spoon to remove. Great recipe, I didn't blacken the onion as I find it greatly reduces the flavor and added a stalk of bruised lemon grass for the last 30 minutes of simmer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I agree with several of the other comments that it turned out a bit greasy, which, as another commentor pointed out, is easily resolved after the fact, but just be aware that if you don't want it greasy, you'll have to fix it. I also thought that for the amount of time you had to cook it, it didn't really have a ton of flavor, and I personally felt that it needed a lot more salt. My husband is a chef, however, and he absolutely loved it, so I've given it a 4/5. He also pointed out that I probably boiled it a bit too hard, which makes the broth cloudy. He said 'simmer it really low and don't stir it, and you'll have a nice, clear broth'. FYI. Anyway, in the end, once you add all the accoutrements, it's pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sydow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States