Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Great easy recipe. As is, it only deserves 4 stars because of some small things missing. I have an asian market close by where they sell EVERYTHING you need to cook asian. If you have access to one of these markets, you can modify this recipe for under 10$ and it will make it a perfect 5 star. This recipe lacked 2 major things, salt and flavour. As written, it makes a great soup base but even 8 hours into cooking, the broth is tasteless. In order to make it better, i replaced the salt with dried pho broth mix, it basically condensed broth with salt. It not only adds the precious saltyness this recipe needs but also makes the broth tastier. I added about 5 tablespoons for the above recipe. Also, you can buy ready-made pho chinese spices. It's a small pouch full of spiced that will compliment any pho recipe, basically star anise, dried coriander and fennel seeds, whole shichuan peppercorn, cinnamon and cloves. This is a must have, a small packet costs less than 2$ and add so much personality to the broth. I also love my pho with beef tendon, so I blanched tendon right before starting the broth and added it to the broth mix for the full 8-10 hours of cooking time. This maked the tendon as tender as jello and goes well with the beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P'Trique Polish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm not a cook, but I actually did a pretty awesome job! My husband loves it. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The flavors were excellent. I would recommend simmering the broth longer than six hours, as it did not reach the level of richness I wanted in that time period. I would also make sure the stock is very hot before finishing the bowls. I used large bowls and added additional veggies and the stock was not hot enough to bring everything up to temp. That said, I will make this again and correct my first time mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Proctor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Little late to the ballgame here, first post... but to those complaining about it coming out greasy/oily: when making a broth or stock, you should ideally skim the fat off the surface a couple times an hour with a ladle or large spoon to remove. Great recipe, I didn't blacken the onion as I find it greatly reduces the flavor and added a stalk of bruised lemon grass for the last 30 minutes of simmer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I agree with several of the other comments that it turned out a bit greasy, which, as another commentor pointed out, is easily resolved after the fact, but just be aware that if you don't want it greasy, you'll have to fix it. I also thought that for the amount of time you had to cook it, it didn't really have a ton of flavor, and I personally felt that it needed a lot more salt. My husband is a chef, however, and he absolutely loved it, so I've given it a 4/5. He also pointed out that I probably boiled it a bit too hard, which makes the broth cloudy. He said 'simmer it really low and don't stir it, and you'll have a nice, clear broth'. FYI. Anyway, in the end, once you add all the accoutrements, it's pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sydow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeBeK
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
For sake of simplicity and easiness...I don't have 6 hours to cook! I used a premix store bought pho spices. You can find it in an oriental grocery store. I boil pork rib bones or beef bones with the spices for 1 hour, then follow the rest of the recipe. I like it spicy, so I add fresh Thai chilli pepper and Ning Chi Chilli Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This pho is so delicious and very easy to customize into a vegetarian recipe, believe it or not! Loved the flavor of the star anise in this soup, and the roasted onion is genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalyn Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I'm currently making this for the first time, and I will come back to update when I taste the end product. I simmered the bones for awhile and the broth ended up being too strong. I watered it down to taste, measured the broth to see how much there was, and it's right around 7 cups. So, for my own notes and as a point of reference for other people who try this, you'll want to add enough water to make 7 cups of broth after you strain the bones and such out of the broth. Adjust to your preference from there, boiling off water or adding water. I simmered the bone broth for about 7-8 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arlenefool
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
If you have a large enough slow cooker you can set the broth going and have pho for supper after work. This recipe is great, it tastes just like the pho at my favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States