Authentic Pepper Pot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was pretty darn good and super healthy. Like other reviewers, I used some chicken sausage in place of the tripe and canadian bacon instead of regular bacon. I would definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I ate this soup for the first time in a diner a few days ago and was hooked. Came home right away and found this recipe. Glad I did!! I put a little of my own touches in....added red, yellow and orange peppers, used browned ground round and bulk sausage and threw in some pot pie noodles...VOILA! a happy and full bellied family! Comfort food at its best! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I've never had pepper pot soup until I went to Jamaica. My wife and I enjoyed it so I had to look up a recipe. I only made a half batch since I was not sure how it would turn out. Now I wish I would of made a full batch. Very flavorful and really pretty simple to make. Will make this one again soon. Used chicken instead of tripe and will make the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I grew up in Philly with a mother who couldn't cook a hot dog. So Campbell's pepper pot was what I was served for Saturday lunch. Why I enjoyed canned soup is beyond me, but I loved the Pepper Pot with Tripe. Grew up, moved away, never ever could find a can anywhere. And I looked. Because it was my fave. Now it is over 55 years later and I find this recipe here! And the ingredients (can you believe they have tripe in Atlanta, Georgia?) Were all readily available. It to me more than 3 hours to cut, chop, grate, and taste test till I got it right. And right it was! This was the best food I've had in my mouth ever in my life. I doubled the recipe and my little old bad cook of a mom and I ate the entire pot in two sittings. I have to say, it was SUPERB. I followed the directions exactly and wow, wow WOW! Thank you for giving me more than a childhood memory could ever bring back. I would live to meet the chef! Thank you! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was just fantastic. The spices perfectly balance. I was really upset when Campbell's stopped making Pepper Pot but this is way better than anything I ever got out of one of their cans. Will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jathouston
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe. I made this for my Mom as she loved the campbell's soup recipe. So I thought I would try to make it for her bday!! Great idea, everyone said it tasted better than the canned!! It takes awhile to dice everything, but so worth it!! I added 1 can diced tomatoes and I did half beef broth and half chicken!! Yummy!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was a fantastic soup! So hearty and filling. I am definitely not a fan of tripe so I used what I had on hand which was ground beef. The only thing I didn't differently was to simple saute it in a pan rather than boiling the meat as the recipes says. This was a total hit with my hubby and my 3 kids. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ron Carmona
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My photo is no. 2 above, and it is the result of almost $30 worth of ingredients. I made it with tripe and it came out delicious. It was worth the effort. The soup is very savory from the bacon and beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Amazing! I used pork instead of tripe, and a healthy dose of pepper, and the result was so incredibly good! Definitely one of the better recipes on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Humes Olson
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was the BEST Pepper Pot Soup I've EVER had! (Sorry mom)! The tripe was the MOST tender tripe I've ever eaten! (Is the boiling in the pot & then leaving it sit there in the pot the secret? I don't know), but, WOW! The only changes I made were, I didn't have any leeks, (so I did without), I used some red bell peppers also, (because I had them on hand). Also, I added a handful of ditalini pasta because the potato I had was on the small side, so I wanted to add a bit more heartiness! I have been raving over this to anyone I know who likes tripe or soup! Mom never wrote down the recipe, & I haven't had this in over 20 yrs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States