Authentic Pepper Pot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was just fantastic. The spices perfectly balance. I was really upset when Campbell's stopped making Pepper Pot but this is way better than anything I ever got out of one of their cans. Will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jathouston
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe. I made this for my Mom as she loved the campbell's soup recipe. So I thought I would try to make it for her bday!! Great idea, everyone said it tasted better than the canned!! It takes awhile to dice everything, but so worth it!! I added 1 can diced tomatoes and I did half beef broth and half chicken!! Yummy!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was a fantastic soup! So hearty and filling. I am definitely not a fan of tripe so I used what I had on hand which was ground beef. The only thing I didn't differently was to simple saute it in a pan rather than boiling the meat as the recipes says. This was a total hit with my hubby and my 3 kids. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ron Carmona
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My photo is no. 2 above, and it is the result of almost $30 worth of ingredients. I made it with tripe and it came out delicious. It was worth the effort. The soup is very savory from the bacon and beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Amazing! I used pork instead of tripe, and a healthy dose of pepper, and the result was so incredibly good! Definitely one of the better recipes on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Humes Olson
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was the BEST Pepper Pot Soup I've EVER had! (Sorry mom)! The tripe was the MOST tender tripe I've ever eaten! (Is the boiling in the pot & then leaving it sit there in the pot the secret? I don't know), but, WOW! The only changes I made were, I didn't have any leeks, (so I did without), I used some red bell peppers also, (because I had them on hand). Also, I added a handful of ditalini pasta because the potato I had was on the small side, so I wanted to add a bit more heartiness! I have been raving over this to anyone I know who likes tripe or soup! Mom never wrote down the recipe, & I haven't had this in over 20 yrs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I did make it with tripe and went exactly as the recipe stated except for one addition. I added one cup of diced Chorizo and it made an already great soup even better!! I would definitely make it again. I added the Chorizo at the same time I added the tripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My grandmother used to make pepper pot soup and I loved it. I went searching for a recipe, found this one and made it exactly as it was. I even used tripe. Well, it was a lot of work and when it was done it wasn't very good at all. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This soup is delicious. I used ham instead of tripe, and because I'm gluten and dairy intolerant, I left out out the margarine and flour, so it was very soupy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is a really great recipe. My father and his girlfriend are horrible food snobs. I gave them some of this soup for dinner on a chilly night. When they asked for the recipe, I knew I'd hit gold! Thank you! I used chicken and sweet chicken sauage instead of the tripe...just can't do tripe. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States