Authentic Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I bought a paella pan in Spain and was a little skeptical about how well homemade paella would turn out. I was amazed at how fast and easy this was. For the protein, I used shrimp, tilapia chunks and canned clams. Other than the rice to liquid ratio, I just eyeballed measurements. The dish can easily be adapted based on what you have on hand and what you like. I didn't have saffron so just used a bit of turmeric for color. I don't give many 5 star recipes but this one totally earned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delicious recipe! I pretty much made it as directed. I did double the saffron and added about 1/2 tsp of turmeric. It tastes as good as those packaged yellow rice mixes, but no artificial ingredients! I did not use any seafood. I used a cut up whole chicken. I browned all the pieces, set them aside and proceeded with the recipe. I also used chicken sausage cut into rounds (also cooked them in the pan before adding the rice and liquid) and some cooked pancetta. I used brown rice, and I did reduce the liquid to about 4.5 cups total to take into consideration the juices that would come from the chicken. It needs to cook much longer with brown rice. I think about an hour and half. I am using a large enameled cast iron dutch oven to cook everything. It is really delicious. I've added a generous amount of sea salt, since I seasoned all the chicken with salt and pepper and added at least 1/2 tsp to the "liquid seasoning" part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Flavor was incredible, I only added 3/4 tsp turmeric, one more cup of peas and 2 sliced young garlic stalks. My fault was using brown basmati rice which took forever to cook, and bad quality frozen lobster tails from Safeway. I'll definitely use this rice recipe again for chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
mjög vel heppnað, nóv 2011, Binni og Eva með okkur, Halla vantaði kartöflur eins og fyrri daginn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uppskriftir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I only used the spices and herbs, substituted keilbasa sausage for the shrimp (since im allergic to seafood) This was soooo good! and easy! I will be making this more often, SOON! thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I spent the summer in Madrid and this WAS the most authentic recipe I have made. I changed a few ingredients...More shrimp, no mussels, lobster or clams. However I did add diced 4 oz.can of octopus in garlic oil and I used diced chicken breasts--mainly because I had them on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great recipe - to answer a previous user the trick to "yellow" and colorful rice is the saffron! Add more as another user did (even though it's red) it will make the rice a beautiful yellow color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valley Cottage, New York, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was my first attempt at Paella and it turned out wonderfully! I read somewhere that turmeric can be used in place of saffron--although not the same it is definitely less expensive BUT beware...a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was our first time making Paella. I substituted crab for lobster, but otherwise followed the recipe. My son, the picky eater, even enjoyed it. Next time, I will not choose to butcher my own chicken....I would use skinless/boneless thighs. Also, mine was not as colorful as the picture...very white / light colored....not sure how to get such rich colors. In looking at other paella recipes, I may choose to add some tomatoes to this next time around to brighten it up. Overall a thumbs up....My son said, I can make this again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Your recipe is great! There are many different things that can be included or omitted in paella and the recipe changes from one region to the next. I use 3 times the amt of saffron and omit the curry. Good job on your recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamaicabeachbum

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States