Authentic Paella Valenciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is truly authentic- If you can, use fresh peas and a good quality saffron, and this excellent recipe will be over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
pretty good! I reduced the garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I think you forgot basil and chicken broth and shrimp and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Às a Spaniard married with a "Valenciana" I can certify this is the authentic paella Valenciana. I love this dish but I prefer not to use the extras you mentioned in the recipe. For the one who reviewed this recipe and said shrimps and olives where missing, I'd like to say that shrimps aren't used in the paella valenciana, only in the "seafood paella" and I've never seen olives in a paella in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
very tasty ... even without a paella pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryLou
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My family is from Valencia and preparing the paella is a tradition to us. This paella is pretty close to the original recipe we have been using for years and years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is my recipe and I just wanted to add a couple things. 1. You don't really eat the whole head of garlic you just let it infuse its flavor into the broth, I don't even peel it. 2. Continally test the broth until it's perfect before adding the rice, as a trick; once it's perfect you can take a little out then add water and salt in the pan and cook till it's perfect again so you'll have perfect broth set aside to add to perfect broth in case you need a little more for the rice w/o having to water it down. 3. You can add some roasted red pepper slices on top for a nice presentation. 4. I forgot to mention the most important part, squeeze lemon juice on it before you eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I lived with a host family in Leon, Spain for six weeks. This is almost exactly like the one my host father and brother would make, only they took out any kind of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I have lived in Spain for the past 8 years and have to agree that this recipe is very authentic. I would also like to point out to a previous reviewer that in NO part of Spain do they serve paella with olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Used to live in barcelona and the ingredients and measurements ALONE, indicate this is one of the more dead on recipes available online, so I tried it. I've made this over and over and over again. BIG paella fan and this is as good as I remember in Barcelona and if you're from Southern California, rivals Cafe Sevilla's paella. I used smoked paprika and I think that's what made it too good to be true. Go to La Tienda's website to buy your smoked paprika and paella pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States