Authentic Paella Valenciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cyndita
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe. I lived in Spain, and am of Spanish decent (parents both born in Spain). I live in USA now and can't find rabbit. When I make paella valenciana I use more chicken, add some jamón serrano which really gives it a delicious taste. I know they don't do that in Spain, but we love the taste. Also add artichokes, butter beans, and green beans. This paella is my favorite of all, but I also love paella a banda. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is almost 100% right-on with the official recipe of Paella Valenciana promoted by the Artesanal Association of Valencia. You can't get more authentic than that. Great work. Try it people it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good recipe, but with one recommendation. Original recipes for paella don't use garlic. One can, it doesn't hurt. My rule of thumb is, if your actually using Spanish saffron or any other good grade (Turkish, Persian, but not Thai), don't use garlic. It overwhelms the taste of the saffron, and the stuff costs too much to do that. Never use a good saffron with garlic. I have a stash of what was a 10 gram box I bought in Grenada. If you are ever in Granada, go over to "la plaza de la catedral" when the spice vendors are there. There is no better or cheaper place to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I agree with omitting the peas & I prefer frozen haricot verts. I would also suggest visiting The Spanish Table for your paella pan (or many other needs). Awesome store! If you're ever in Santa Fe- worth a visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I make my paella without even peeling the garlic, and I also like to use green beans and red pepper. I also put slices of hard-boiled egg to decorate it when it's done. Also, instead of rabbit, I use Spanish chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJDuque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I followed recipe exactly. The rice was outstanding but the meat was disappointingly bland. I don't care about the recipe's authenticity but if you want a good dish, leave out the chicken and use the whole rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not hard to cook, but takes planning, makes a LOT of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Pretty close. In Spain, they would use Calasparra rice--or Bomba, for top drawer. "White rice" per se, doesn't work for me. I wouldn't attempt it without the good stuff from Murcia. And these short grains will probably affect the absorption, e.g., Bomba absorbs more than Calasparra. Not easy to find and not cheap. But not impossible, and what're you gonna do? No substitute, once you're addicted to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Stenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is one closest recipe to real paella I've found in this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
One review mentioned "basil and olives" ... omg - hell no! I just got back from a honeymoon in Barcelona. This recipe is dead on ... I cannot wait to make it over and over and over again! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States