Authentic Paella Valenciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Pretty close. In Spain, they would use Calasparra rice--or Bomba, for top drawer. "White rice" per se, doesn't work for me. I wouldn't attempt it without the good stuff from Murcia. And these short grains will probably affect the absorption, e.g., Bomba absorbs more than Calasparra. Not easy to find and not cheap. But not impossible, and what're you gonna do? No substitute, once you're addicted to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Stenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is one closest recipe to real paella I've found in this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
One review mentioned "basil and olives" ... omg - hell no! I just got back from a honeymoon in Barcelona. This recipe is dead on ... I cannot wait to make it over and over and over again! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Hi!! My name is Maria, and I'm from Valencia, also, I'm a cook, so I love paella and know really well how to make one, I'm 25 years old and almost every Sunday of my life I ate paella. The real Paella Valenciana doesn't have green peas, but you can add, when its the season, artichoke in quarters. Someone told you to add a bit of lemon juice over it before eating the paella, and I agree it makes the flavour more intense, but the acid of the lemon combined with the carbohydrates of the rice makes your digestion difficult. Only add lemon juice if its very oily, it would help your stomach. I don't mean that you can't add green peas to your paella if you like it, but in Valencia, no one does, maybe in some villages near it. If you want to try a very tasty one use dried cod, tender garlic and cauliflower. It's really nice. Another tipe of paella is the one with meatballs and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Great recipe, I used 4 chicken thighs + legs, and quarter pound of shrimp cause my pan was a little small. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Enough for 80, not 8! And too bland. Search for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Used to live in barcelona and the ingredients and measurements ALONE, indicate this is one of the more dead on recipes available online, so I tried it. I've made this over and over and over again. BIG paella fan and this is as good as I remember in Barcelona and if you're from Southern California, rivals Cafe Sevilla's paella. I used smoked paprika and I think that's what made it too good to be true. Go to La Tienda's website to buy your smoked paprika and paella pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I have lived in Spain for the past 8 years and have to agree that this recipe is very authentic. I would also like to point out to a previous reviewer that in NO part of Spain do they serve paella with olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I lived with a host family in Leon, Spain for six weeks. This is almost exactly like the one my host father and brother would make, only they took out any kind of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is my recipe and I just wanted to add a couple things. 1. You don't really eat the whole head of garlic you just let it infuse its flavor into the broth, I don't even peel it. 2. Continally test the broth until it's perfect before adding the rice, as a trick; once it's perfect you can take a little out then add water and salt in the pan and cook till it's perfect again so you'll have perfect broth set aside to add to perfect broth in case you need a little more for the rice w/o having to water it down. 3. You can add some roasted red pepper slices on top for a nice presentation. 4. I forgot to mention the most important part, squeeze lemon juice on it before you eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States