Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Too spicy for my family. We eat pretty bland so don't go by my review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Normally I find recipes to be a bit bland, so I double up on the spices. This recipe in my opinion is the same. Making this once a month for Sunday's dinner, we add both smoke n beef sausages when I am unable to find a nice smoked ham hock. before adding any of the sausages I mash a few beans on the side of the cast iron to give it the extra creaminess. and if you have a rice maker I find for the firmest rice the ratio is 1 to 1. that is if your press for time that is. I too am from Da' South and I tell everyone you used what was available to you in the region, so if you want to add jalapenos to your beans n rice then do so. Its all about ones taste. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Okay, some of you might just be out of your minds, this was great! I made it with the jalapenos and that added just enough kick so that my younger sons could stand it. I also reduced the amount of water to 3 cups + 4 cups chicken broth. mmmmmhm it was good. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! Loved some of the tweaks in the reviews, especially the one from Kay:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Helm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I like to use Camellia brand beans; they cook like no other and I have never had to smash them to create a creamy 'sauce'. I add just enough water to touch the top of the beans after everything is in pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this recipe and added a spoon full of crab boil! I thought I was in New Orleans. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Could not eat this some things are just not meant to be done in the slow cooker so who ever is going try this don't eat this I warn u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I followed this recipe just to see if there was something I was missing. 1. It doesn't contain the Trinity of cajun/creole cooking; celery, onion, and bell pepper. That should be a major red flag to anyone reading this. I guess 2 out of 3 aint bad? 2. Red beans don't have jalepenos in them. Don't know where they got that from. If you want them hotter, you use hot sauce when they are served. 3. This is way too much water. One pound of beans cooked on a stove top would use 8 or 9 cups, and you can expect to use less in a crock pot. This recipe didn't come out creamy, but rather soupy. 4. That isn't nearly enough meat. All recipes call for a pound of sausage for every pound of beans. No one will complain that they got an extra piece of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday in my slow cooker and it was wonderful!The only thing I changed was to use less water. Highly recommended - thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Don't forget the roux, if you really want the no shortcut, Louisiana style red beans. Everyone has their own method of thickening, though. See Allrecipes article, "How to Make Roux, Step-by-Step." Love to read everyone's tweaks to this good, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States