Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have been looking for a real red beans and rice recipe ever since I visited New Orleans a couple months ago. This is the closest I have found to what I had there. I liked it much more the second day. Next time I will make it a day before I want to eat it. I also had to add more spice (cayenne pepper) to get the heat my family likes. Other than that, this is an excellent recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Ok, this girl is my new favorite cook, please tellm e you have more recipes to put on here! I tried these tonight, and they were so good I had to get on and review it right away! I know that red beans and rice is one of those dishes that is personal, and not one size fits all....but this is very close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. It turned out really good. My family thought it was better the next day. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My husband always cringes when I pull out my crock-pot because for some reason most things I cook in it taste a little off. Not so with this dish, it was superb! I soaked my bean overnight and I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and used less water. I added a bay leaf and I also followed Ernid’s suggestion of ham bouillon in lieu of the ham hock. My kids loved it too. Thanks Melissa for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was my first ever try at making Red Beans and Rice, and it turned out great! I did leave out the jalepenos, as my children are not spicy eaters, and I used Italian sausage instead of Andouille (my grocer didn't carry the Andouille). It still tasted wonderful. I think next time I will try adding some crisp bacon, as a friend of mine does in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this was the first time that I made this recipe. It was very good but only because I read the reviews first. I only added 8 cups of water which was stock from the turkey meat that i boiled before i added it to the crock pot. and i substituted pork for turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I live in Louisiana and have never attempted to make red beans..this recipe tasted so good and just like all the red bean recipes here in Louisiana! Next time I would cut the water back to 9 cups, it was a little thin but the next day it thickened up. I also would not cook te sausage ahead of time and just put in the crock pot and it will cook up in there. I added just a little cajun seasoning for an extra kick! Thanks for the great recipe I will be making for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good. I omitted the sausage since my ham hock was very meaty. I used some cornstarch to thicken at the end. Very good and authentic. I might try to cook the rice in with the beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very good and easy to make. I used a smoked turkey leg instead of a hamhock and only half an onion was plenty. The only changes I would make next time are: definitely decrease amount of water - I had to transfer to a pot and boil on the stove and add cornstarch and it was still watery. I also would prefer to cut the sausage into small pieces, and make double the amount because my husband ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is the best recipe for red beans & rice on this site. It does need tweaking for your individual tastes, though. To make these red beans taste like the ones I grew up on in Louisiana, I did the following: Omitted the jalapeño. Cut the bell pepper by half. Used a generous amount of Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. Subbed chicken broth for water & cut it down to 7 cups. Used the back of my spoon to smash up enough beans to make the whole pot creamy. Must! Use! Andouille! even if you have to order it online this is the ONLY way to get the authentic and unique flavor of the sausage right. Regular sausage just isn't seasoned the same way or contains the same amount of spiciness. My central Texas grocery store has started carrying it, as does Whole Foods and other "specialty stores". I only had ham scraps instead of a ham hock but the andouille adds smoky flavor so I didn't miss the hock. Normally I'd use both the andouille & the ham hock. For those omitting celery, you really need the "holy trinity" of onion, celery & bell pepper to call it authentic. Mince it finely and sautee it first if you have to. Me, I just do a fine dice on the veggies and let them cook down in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States