Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have been looking for a real red beans and rice recipe ever since I visited New Orleans a couple months ago. This is the closest I have found to what I had there. I liked it much more the second day. Next time I will make it a day before I want to eat it. I also had to add more spice (cayenne pepper) to get the heat my family likes. Other than that, this is an excellent recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. It turned out really good. My family thought it was better the next day. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
A little too bland for me. I added chopped green onions and celery. Threw in some cayenne and white pepper too. Served with Tobasco on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jena, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Tasty, with some nice bite to it, but has too much liquid. I used 1/2 lb beans and 4 1/2 cups water, but next time I'll use only 3 cups water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great, great flavor. However, there was way too much liquid. I followed the suggestion of putting the crockpot on high without the lid for an hour, but all that did was overcook the sausage. I'll definitely make this again, but with less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is really a pretty good recipe. I adjusted the spices to suit my families taste, and made a couple of substitutions due to location and price. I subbed hot sausage (from Hillshire Farms) for the andouille sausage, and I used ham boullion instead of a ham hock. My only thing is that in the slow cooker the thing would not thicken- so I ended up pouring it into a pan and simmering for about 20 minutes to reduce the liquid. Next time I'll just use less liquid- probably more like 7-8 cups of water. Over all though it is a really tasty recipe that is pretty forgiving when it comes to adjusting here and there for your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great way to use up the Easter ham bone. I pre-cooked my beans first so only added about half the water called for. Also upped the seasonings after reading reviews; some hot pepper sauce, worcheshire, thyme and cayenne pepper. Also added some chopped celery. I still had to take lid off crock pot last hour so it would thicken a little more. Wonderful hearty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was my first ever try at making Red Beans and Rice, and it turned out great! I did leave out the jalepenos, as my children are not spicy eaters, and I used Italian sausage instead of Andouille (my grocer didn't carry the Andouille). It still tasted wonderful. I think next time I will try adding some crisp bacon, as a friend of mine does in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
If you can't find andouille sausage, smoked keilbasa is a great substitute. We always add a bay leaf or two to our pot of beans. Got to have the bay leaf.... Good recipe. I like slow cooker idea. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this was the first time that I made this recipe. It was very good but only because I read the reviews first. I only added 8 cups of water which was stock from the turkey meat that i boiled before i added it to the crock pot. and i substituted pork for turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States