Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by andray68
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I wasn't sure I was going to enjoy this....it smelled pretty beanie while it was cooking....but it was FANTASTIC! Like others have already said it is pretty watery but the broth was delicious. My 9 year old had 2 helpings. The only substitution I made was smoked sausage instead of andouille. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andray68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
smelled great, bland taste. Too soupy so I added 1 cup of rice to cook with the beans last 2 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Tremendous! I don't know authentic, but I know delicious... I've always loved red beans and rice and this is the best I've ever been able to make at home. Ten cups of water is way a lot. Seven or Eight would do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Too watery. Maybe would be better to specify 6 -7 cups water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
this was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was so good. Hubby and I ate it as left over for days afterward. It's worth the time it takes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Other than using the quick soak method on the beans, I followed the directions exactly as listed and did have to slow cook it on low a little longer and raise the temperature to high with the lid off for the last half hour as recommended. We liked it but I needed to add a bit more zing. Second attempt: We like spice, let's emphatically state, we like heat and herbs so I did double up on Tony C's Cajun and the fresh basil at the start. We adjusted the seasonings the last half hour - meaning added more of everything to taste. I also used thick bacon (3 slices crumbled) along with the sausage and a left-over lamb leg bone instead of a ham hock. I cooked the veggies in bacon grease before adding it to crock pot. For the liquid, I used half chicken broth and half beef broth. This was my second stab at this old favorite and I have to tell you, it was delicious. I feel this basic recipe is very good and with our special family touches, it rises to excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It made the house smell wonderful but the taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
i followed the recipe exactly as written... I don't know what I did wrong. It was bland, the beans were overcooked and overall not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Glaubach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe I added 3 oz of Tasso (southern smoked pork) which added a lot of flavor and used 4 cups beef stock(2 beef boullon cubes) and 4 cups water. 1 tsp basil. The Tasso and andouille sausage really make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States