Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was so good. Hubby and I ate it as left over for days afterward. It's worth the time it takes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Other than using the quick soak method on the beans, I followed the directions exactly as listed and did have to slow cook it on low a little longer and raise the temperature to high with the lid off for the last half hour as recommended. We liked it but I needed to add a bit more zing. Second attempt: We like spice, let's emphatically state, we like heat and herbs so I did double up on Tony C's Cajun and the fresh basil at the start. We adjusted the seasonings the last half hour - meaning added more of everything to taste. I also used thick bacon (3 slices crumbled) along with the sausage and a left-over lamb leg bone instead of a ham hock. I cooked the veggies in bacon grease before adding it to crock pot. For the liquid, I used half chicken broth and half beef broth. This was my second stab at this old favorite and I have to tell you, it was delicious. I feel this basic recipe is very good and with our special family touches, it rises to excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It made the house smell wonderful but the taste was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
i followed the recipe exactly as written... I don't know what I did wrong. It was bland, the beans were overcooked and overall not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH1265

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe I added 3 oz of Tasso (southern smoked pork) which added a lot of flavor and used 4 cups beef stock(2 beef boullon cubes) and 4 cups water. 1 tsp basil. The Tasso and andouille sausage really make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really like this recipe and changed only a few things due to what I had available and some of the recommendations from other reviewer. I used 8 cups and liquid (3 cups chicked stock left from another slow cooker dish and 5 water). I used Conecuh sausage as I live in Alabama and that's the norm here ;). I used dried herbs and minced garlic and of course a lage amount of Tony Cachere's Seasoning. No jalapeno or ham hock but the sausage more than made up for that. I found that after 8 hours the mixture had not thickened well enough and I placed in a pot on the stove for 10 mins and it was perfect! I really wish I would have made 2 lbs of beans because these were gone so quickly! ENJOY! Tip for rice: Add a large amount of water to the pot with a few splashes of vinegar. Wait until this mixture comes to a rolling boil THEN add your rice. Mix to make sure there is no sticking but the rolling boil combats that. Cover and your rice will be done in less than 15 minutes and will be perfect! My grandma taught me this and it is a perfect no measure, no mess, no screwup method for a newbie like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiemelt35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It was bland, tasteless, was sort of grey in color, pasty and had the consistency of gruel when done. There was no flavor at all and the rice turned to mush. I was so disappointed! Scratch this one off the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow this is an amazingly delicious recipe! I did not have any sausage, so I used one lb of ground beef. Also, I used a hambone with lots of ham left on it in place of the hamhocks. Another reviewer said to mash up some of the beans to add to the creaminess and I am glad I did that. Next time I will reduce the water to eight cups as mine was a bit watery. I added two tablespoons of New Orleans Seasoning and one tablespoon of chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugardiva1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I would say this was certainly a healthy dish, but bland. A little too much water too. The good thing is you can adjust this recipe to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States