Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Have made this a few times now and getting ready to make it again! I always make it a little different depending on what spices, peppers and sausage I have on hand and it always turns out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Carney Gaddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yum! I used dried black beans instead of red, 1/2 stock & 1/2 water and doubled the spices & this still turned out awesome! Thanks for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel Monroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
My hubby is a Texas-Cajun and he said dis was some goooood eatin' y'all!! Definitely de real deal cher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
weather or not this is authentic , who knows, but I made it exactly as said, and it was wonderful will continue to make again, just a little tid bit of information the creole seasoning is very salty paired with ham and the sausage, but I love salt so it was good for me lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
it most definitely can't be authentic of it doesn't have the holy trinity of onions, green peppers and celery. And I have never seen an authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe that had either basil or creole seasoning in it. Authentic cooks don't use creole seasoning mixes, they use the individual herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
If you're going to accidentally leave your crock pot on "high" for 12 hours, I would suggest that you use the entire 10 cups of water. Although quite overdone and therefore not at all appetizing in appearance, this meal was absolutely delicious. I will make it again, hopefully without the crock pot snafu. It was pretty salty, but I'm not sure how to avoid that as I didn't add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My native Louisiana husband asked me to make this again. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I'd take out the jalapenos and put a bottle of Louisiana hotsause on the table to be used by those who want it hot. Also, I've found that Bay Leaves, instead of Basil makes it all the better. Other than that, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
this is a good recipe, although being from new orleans we always did it on the stove. but one trick to thick, rich, red beans that restaurants do is when it is cooking watch for the beans to split. that is about and hour or so into it, maybe more in the crockpot, then add 1/2 to 1 whole stick of butter. makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States