Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I've been cooking these for 10+ hours and the beans are still hard as a rock. I didn't even add the salt or other spices yet. I can't believe I haven't seen more reviews with the same problem. My slow cooker works fine. I used it often. I'm leaving it on all night. We'll see how it is then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraaldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Perfect Red Beans & Rice recipe! I like to add a little cuimin and real onions/celery/garlic/bell pepper in mine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made this dish for dinner last night and loved it. I didn't have the fresh basil, but followed the rest of the directions and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Bland not good easy just not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was very easy and had great flavor. I agree with many of the reviewers in that you only need half the water the recipe calls for, if you're looking for that authentic red beans and rice texture. During the final cooking stages, mash some of the beans against the inside of the crock pot with a spoon and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great flavor but the recipe needs some tweaking. Otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. So simple to put together. Ten cups of liquid is WAY too much, though. It was pretty soupy even after I mashed some of the beans. I had to add corn starch to thicken it up and then let it cook with the lid off for a couple hours longer than the recipe says to get it to the right consistency. Next time, I'd go with about 6 cups of liquid instead of 10. I used chicken stock instead of water which gave it a really nice flavor. I would definitely make this again, just with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I accidentally threw out the water that I soaked the beans in overnight so I added 2 cups before turning on the crockpot. Turned out great! The ham hock is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Mine were a little too watery, so I added a can of Blue Runner red beans, they made all the difference...the beans were creamy, and was not watery at all. Overall, the recipe was very easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States