Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I followed this recipe just to see if there was something I was missing. 1. It doesn't contain the Trinity of cajun/creole cooking; celery, onion, and bell pepper. That should be a major red flag to anyone reading this. I guess 2 out of 3 aint bad? 2. Red beans don't have jalepenos in them. Don't know where they got that from. If you want them hotter, you use hot sauce when they are served. 3. This is way too much water. One pound of beans cooked on a stove top would use 8 or 9 cups, and you can expect to use less in a crock pot. This recipe didn't come out creamy, but rather soupy. 4. That isn't nearly enough meat. All recipes call for a pound of sausage for every pound of beans. No one will complain that they got an extra piece of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday in my slow cooker and it was wonderful!The only thing I changed was to use less water. Highly recommended - thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Don't forget the roux, if you really want the no shortcut, Louisiana style red beans. Everyone has their own method of thickening, though. See Allrecipes article, "How to Make Roux, Step-by-Step." Love to read everyone's tweaks to this good, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I get the broth creamy I add a can of vegetarian refried beans instead of crushing whole beans from the recipe. Works like a charm also works well with chili which is where I first learned to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The one thing my Grandmother taught me about thicker liquid in beans was to a small peeled potato into the beans. I guess the potato acts just like corn starch, because the potato is starchy and thickens up the juice in the beans. The jalepeneos, in my opinion, should be added in individual servings. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used 7-8 cups of waterand transfered them to a pot and heat them on the stove to reduce the liquid. I substituted 2-3 stalks celery for the jalapeños.I added more spice, 1 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning wasn't enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I actually made this on the stove top since I got distracted and didn't get it in the crock pot in time. It was fabulous and the family devoured it quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Good stuff. One thing though, halve the recipe if you're going to do this in a 3-quart crock.If you can fit 10 cups of water + ingredients in that size crock, you are a magician! LOL Enjoy this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I am making it for the second tome today. Just about the best I have ever made the first time around. Too much water in the recipe so I cut it down to 8 cups this time. I put some green onions in the mix. I didn't use the creole seasoning mix but rather used individual seasonings of my choice so I wouldn't get the salt. Crock pot cooking works great for this dish. Another touch I do is remove the ham hock towards the end, cut away the fat, and chop up the ham hock meat to add back to the pot. I suggest adding a bay leaf and about a teaspoon of cumin. Cumin is a great seasoning for bean dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was way more than 8 servings. I thought the water was overkill and the Celery was missing. If I make this again, I will not include the rice, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States