Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was the most flavorful red bean and rice recipe I've ever made and it was simple, simple, simple. It will become a winter staple in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great recipe. Could not find andouille sausage so used smoked beef&pork sausage.It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Recipe is fantastic. The only adjustment I made was to use chicken broth instead of water and decreased it to six cups instead of 10. I like my red beans a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My Crock pot must be smaller than most because i could only use 4 cups of water, after adding the ingredients. I didn't really change anything except the andouille sausage. I remember the last time i ate this sausage it was like eating a lit match!!!(just a little too hot for me) so i used smoked sausage and kielbasa. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Too much water - had to scoop out 2 cups, and still put in pot, bring to a boil and cook in rice. It then lost a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
WOW what a great recipe! I cannot attest to it tasting authentic as I am not from Louisiana but I can tell you my family loved it! I couldn't get my hands on the andouile sausage and used Conecuh Cajun flavored sausage and still think it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very disappointing. Even though I cut back on water and added extra spices, it was still watery and blah. I'll go back to the packaged red beans & rice with andoille and some fresh onions & peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was fantastic, simple, easy. Even my kids eat it up. I had some friends over to help eat it as there was a lot to eat. Very inexpensive, filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a good recipe!! I did do a bit of tweaking -- used tinned kidney beans, drained/rinced well; added diced celery; then used oregano, thyme and bayleaf in place of creole seasoning. I also used hambone left from Sunday dinner bone in ham -- worked well. I also used half chicken broth, and half water. Finally, I cooked rice nite before, then added to crockpot when I got home. Turned on high; then while the Jiffy Cornbread was cooking -- rice combined with rest, got warm and was perfect. Husband said -- "this is very good; please make it again!" and then helped himself to another bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eccentrinx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
In N'awlins, everybody has her own touch for red beans and rice, so whatever works for you is great. They are ALL creamy, though, accomplished by smashing beans as noted by several folks. Most restaurants serve smoked sausage on the side and season the beans with ham or a little andouille. One tip--don't add the salt until the end or it will prevent the beans from getting soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States