Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is a great recipe! Very flavorful, especially if you make it the day before you plan to serve it. I followed the recipe, except for serving with brown rice instead of the traditional white rice. I used Tony Chachere's creole seasoning, which was very good. I also browned the cut-up smoked sausage before adding it to the pot, as I didn't want it to take the chance of it getting mushy. Thanks for this keeper recipe, Matt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I love this recipe. Very tasty. I made a few small changes. I used Andouille sausage, and per some reviewers, I added it at the end so it wouldn't get mushy. I cut it in 1/4 inch rounds and sauteed them until slightly browned. I used Johnsonville brand, which has only a slight spicy taste. I soaked beans overnight, and then cooked it in a slow cooker. I didn't want soupy beans, so I added only enough water to cover beans, 3 cups. I slow cooked 10 hours, and the consistency was perfect, slightly thick red juice. I really like the spices in this, but I tasted after 8 hours and I thought it needed more salt and spice, so I added a second dash of hot sauce and an extra 1/2 T Tony Chachere's seasoning - perfect. Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I waited until the last half hour to add the sausage and also added a bottle of beer along with the water at the beginning (cutting the amount of water by a cup and a half). Best red bean recipe ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Silva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Didn't have all the ingredients on hand. Subbed bacon fat for shortening and ham hock. Used my own seasoning blend. Used chourico sausage. Freakin' fabulous. My rather picky son took a few bites and said I could make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Great recipe! For my small family, I halved the beans, water, seasonings, and sausage (used andoullie). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cunningham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
When I have about half hour left to cook I take the back of a spoon and smash some of the beans on the side of the pot. It helps make it a little thicker without adding anything else to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made a few changes. My boyfriend is vegetarian so for the first part of the process I left out all meat products and cooked as directed otherwise. I love using my crock pot for these kinds of things so I sautéed the onion, garlic, and bell pepper as per the directions and added it to the crock pot with the celery and spices. I let that cook for 4 hours, mash some of the beans in the crock pot, and remove the boyfriends portion. I then add andouille sausage and cook another hour. It's delicious! I lived in New Orleans for 4 years while I went to college and this is the closest recipe I've been able to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie Ospina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've made this for guests several times and it's a huge hit. I just throw it into a slow cooker so I can forget about it! Even better the second, third day as the flavors combine. Try making it a day or two before, then reheating it in a slow cooker. Yum! 8 cups of water is kind of excessive if you're eating right away- 6 is more than enough. After a couple of days, it all gets absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Quite good! I made this tonight and loved it. I used a slightly different sausage because it was on sale and prepared my own red beans from dry beans first, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately it's a bit too spicy for my hubby's tender tummy, but I'm freezing the rest in individual packages for lunches later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Excellent! The best bean recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT1958

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States