Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I liked seasoning mix -- extremely close to what I currently use -- but I put the hot sauce on the table. Three suggestions: 1)The beans need to be soaked overnight to be thoroughly hydrated and cleaned - drain and refill the water after soaking. 2)Add the ham hock and cook for about 3 hours before adding the veggies and prefried/drained sausage. 3)While sauteing the veggies add a couple of large spoons of beans and mash into the veggie mixture. This flavors and slightly thickens the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this a LOT! I didn't have a ham hock but I did have 7 cups of rich dark ham stock and a cup of coconut milk in the freezer. I used some andouille I brought back from Nola. I will make this again and again. Maybe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Good basic recipe! I like to make a roux and add the sausage later, so it will thicken and the sausage won't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Just the smells while preparing this has my mouth watering...didn't have the creole seasoning so I used a cagun blend...and I added red pepper used chicken stock for water....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
i loved this. my DH not so much, that's why the 4 stars instead of 5. the seasoning was spot on from what i remember from being in New Orleans. mine might not have looked as pretty, but boy was it tasty. i'm going to make up some of this spice mix to have on hand. i used http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/62568095/cajun-chefs-cajun-seasoning/detail.aspx thanks for the post Matt, this will have to be one of those recipes i make just for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wow!! Made this last night and it was awesome!! I cooked it longer to thicken up the way I wanted, deleted the celery, and used bacon grease to cook the onion and pepper. Other than those changes, I kept it the same. My wife and kids loved it. I made it to go with Texas slow cooker pulled pork and spicy cole slaw, also from this site. Great meal and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, except omitted the tabasco sauce at the end. Simmered on low for 5 1/2 hours. Served with corn bread. This was FANTSTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
A recipe to be cherished. Made it several times and everyone loves it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent as a vegetarian meal as well. Omitted ham hock and sausage. Doubled the celery, used 7 cups of veg broth and 1/2 cup of red wine and added liquid smoke during the last 15 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIZZLN
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love it but why throw away a perfectly good ham hock! I didn't. Not as good as a friend from LA made but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States