Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Not sure if I can review my own recipe....it is OK to cut the cooking time to 3.5 or 4 hours as someone else suggested. Also, if you can find authentic tasso (can be ordered on the internet if you search for it), it makes a great substitution for the ham hock. If you use tasso, you need to cut back or eliminate the creole seasoning since tasso provides a lot of heat along with flavor. Andouille is a good substitute for smoked sausage as someone suggested, but again you may need to cut back on the creole seasoning depending on how much spice is in the sausage. Celery is really optional, I often don't use it. Finally, someone commented on it being too soupy. Cutting the water back by a cup is OK, but if you cook it the full 5 hours it gets a little thicker. In addition, I recommend using high quality medium grain sticky rice (the Japanese rice often used for sushi). New Orleanians typically use long grain rice, but the sticky rice is delicious and gives it a much thicker, non soupy, texture. Sticky rice gives it a delectable porridge-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I loved this dish! Made as written except for the ham hock and sausage. I had a very meaty smoked ham bone in the freezer so I threw that in the bean pot. A bowl of coleslaw and a skillet of cornbread and, ah, my. A supper fit for a king!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very tasty! I used the Creole Seasoning Blend for the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious! I've made this recipe a handful of times now and it keeps on tasting better. I used bacon fat for the shortening and cooked the red beans using the slow cooker after soaking overnight. This last time, I cut back on the liquid to about seven cups. Instead of water, I used chicken stock. When the beans are tender, I take about two cups of the beans, veggies, liquid (no meat) and run it through the food processor for a heartier, thickened texture. I return the processed beans back to the crock pot until fully cooked. I serve the red beans with medium grain Calrose or short-grain Nishiki rice and cornbread on the side. Put a bottle of Tabasco on the table and hmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a very tasty recipe. However, I did make a couple of changes. I used chicken broth in the place of the water, and after bringing everything to a boil on the stove, I placed it all in the crock pot on the low setting. After 3 hours I did mash a good amount of the beans against the side of the pot to thicken it a bit. Next time I will reduce the broth to 6 cups because it was a little more soupy than I like. This is a keeper! Thanks Matt for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh yeah this is tasty. I used andouille sausage. I used 1 1/2 pounds of beans and 2 ham hocks but the original amount of sausage. Great flavor with the right amount of kick to it. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
IMHO, Good. The sausage needs to be added later in the process, because its a bit mushy after simmering for 5 hours. Also if you're going to bother adding a ham-hock for flavor and meat then I recommend 2 because there's not much meat on them. The recipe is a little soupy for my taste, recommend 7 cups of water. Had scratch cornbread as a side..perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I cooked in pressure cooker for 25 minutes. Combined everything except smoked sausage & rice, added smoked sausage after cooking beans in pressure cooker. Used Sriracha sauce and added 1 whole cayenne pepper. Take the pepper and milk out the meat inside(yum) Added a Tbs. or 2 of chicken bouillon to water and just added enough water to cover beans. So good served with greens and hot vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was easy to prep and throw in the crock pot. I do recommend soaking the beans overnight: I cooked in the slow cooker on high for about 4 hours. I didn't have a ham hock but had andouille and used that. I cut the Tony's to 1/2 tablespoon with the andouille. My 4 yo and 3 yo old asked for seconds but all they could talk about was how spicy it was and I had to refill their waters about 3 times. It was exactly the right amount of spicy for my husband and I. If you are going to cook in the crock pot a good rule of thumb is to just cover the beans by about 1/4 inch because the amount of liquid you start with will generally be about what you end with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaBarry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 510queen
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT!! I used 6 cups of water, smoked ham shanks and instead of shortening I used olive oil. Time was reduced b/c I soaked my beans over night. I also used whole grain brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States