Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh yeah this is tasty. I used andouille sausage. I used 1 1/2 pounds of beans and 2 ham hocks but the original amount of sausage. Great flavor with the right amount of kick to it. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very tasty! I used the Creole Seasoning Blend for the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I loved this dish! Made as written except for the ham hock and sausage. I had a very meaty smoked ham bone in the freezer so I threw that in the bean pot. A bowl of coleslaw and a skillet of cornbread and, ah, my. A supper fit for a king!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Turned out very favorable, but too soupy. I suggest reducing the water by a cup. Plus, with just a little soaking time (perhaps two hours), there is no need to simmer for the suggest 5 hours, just test the texture of the beans around 3-1/2-to-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I omitted the ham hocks and instead added a bit of liquid smoke; the taste wasn't distinguishable in the final product, so I'll try adding it halfway through cooking next time instead of at the beginning. Unless you like very spicy beans, I suggest using regular smoked sausage for the dish, as the creole seasoning adds plenty of heat. I only needed around 4 hours for the simmering, and I didn't soak the beans ahead of time, but that may have been a fluke, and the extra hour of cooking won't ruin the dish. You can add a pinch more of the spices as you see fit, but not too much- judge for yourself based on the age of your herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is the boyfriend's favorite so far and I use it as a guide line. Instead of the ham hock/ shortening I put in a good amount of bacon fat which is something I normally just have in the fridge. Such an easy meal to prep in the slow cooker, that's what I love the most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Not sure if I can review my own recipe....it is OK to cut the cooking time to 3.5 or 4 hours as someone else suggested. Also, if you can find authentic tasso (can be ordered on the internet if you search for it), it makes a great substitution for the ham hock. If you use tasso, you need to cut back or eliminate the creole seasoning since tasso provides a lot of heat along with flavor. Andouille is a good substitute for smoked sausage as someone suggested, but again you may need to cut back on the creole seasoning depending on how much spice is in the sausage. Celery is really optional, I often don't use it. Finally, someone commented on it being too soupy. Cutting the water back by a cup is OK, but if you cook it the full 5 hours it gets a little thicker. In addition, I recommend using high quality medium grain sticky rice (the Japanese rice often used for sushi). New Orleanians typically use long grain rice, but the sticky rice is delicious and gives it a much thicker, non soupy, texture. Sticky rice gives it a delectable porridge-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 510queen
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT!! I used 6 cups of water, smoked ham shanks and instead of shortening I used olive oil. Time was reduced b/c I soaked my beans over night. I also used whole grain brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a very tasty recipe. However, I did make a couple of changes. I used chicken broth in the place of the water, and after bringing everything to a boil on the stove, I placed it all in the crock pot on the low setting. After 3 hours I did mash a good amount of the beans against the side of the pot to thicken it a bit. Next time I will reduce the broth to 6 cups because it was a little more soupy than I like. This is a keeper! Thanks Matt for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was easy to prep and throw in the crock pot. I do recommend soaking the beans overnight: I cooked in the slow cooker on high for about 4 hours. I didn't have a ham hock but had andouille and used that. I cut the Tony's to 1/2 tablespoon with the andouille. My 4 yo and 3 yo old asked for seconds but all they could talk about was how spicy it was and I had to refill their waters about 3 times. It was exactly the right amount of spicy for my husband and I. If you are going to cook in the crock pot a good rule of thumb is to just cover the beans by about 1/4 inch because the amount of liquid you start with will generally be about what you end with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaBarry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States