Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Excellent! The best bean recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These were really good. Have an excellent flavor with a spicy kick. Good thick, texture although I did smash a few beans to thicken the sauce but my family enjoys the beans mostly intact, as well. We were able to make two meals out of this amount. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by Juju
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I tweaked it to make a little healthier - I used turkey sausage and organic red beans :) It was amazing & very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Turned out perfect. I reduced the amount of water by 1 cup and go the thickness I desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Moratz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I liked seasoning mix -- extremely close to what I currently use -- but I put the hot sauce on the table. Three suggestions: 1)The beans need to be soaked overnight to be thoroughly hydrated and cleaned - drain and refill the water after soaking. 2)Add the ham hock and cook for about 3 hours before adding the veggies and prefried/drained sausage. 3)While sauteing the veggies add a couple of large spoons of beans and mash into the veggie mixture. This flavors and slightly thickens the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this a LOT! I didn't have a ham hock but I did have 7 cups of rich dark ham stock and a cup of coconut milk in the freezer. I used some andouille I brought back from Nola. I will make this again and again. Maybe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Good basic recipe! I like to make a roux and add the sausage later, so it will thicken and the sausage won't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Just the smells while preparing this has my mouth watering...didn't have the creole seasoning so I used a cagun blend...and I added red pepper used chicken stock for water....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
i loved this. my DH not so much, that's why the 4 stars instead of 5. the seasoning was spot on from what i remember from being in New Orleans. mine might not have looked as pretty, but boy was it tasty. i'm going to make up some of this spice mix to have on hand. i used http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/62568095/cajun-chefs-cajun-seasoning/detail.aspx thanks for the post Matt, this will have to be one of those recipes i make just for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wow!! Made this last night and it was awesome!! I cooked it longer to thicken up the way I wanted, deleted the celery, and used bacon grease to cook the onion and pepper. Other than those changes, I kept it the same. My wife and kids loved it. I made it to go with Texas slow cooker pulled pork and spicy cole slaw, also from this site. Great meal and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States