Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I loved it. I always use a little less lemon juice and then have some on the side for those who like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brennasma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I guess I just hate "authentic hummus." I made a larger quantity of this for a group event (everyone loves hummus), and nobody cared for it. I took it home, added a lot of minced garlic and some Tony Chachere's seasoning, and it was all but gone the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe was not authentic at ALL! I had hummus in several restaurants in Israel and Greece and none of them had the cumin in them. If you're looking for "authentic", then DON'T try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Absolutly Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The texture is amazing. Absolutely genuine flavors however when cooking my beans I threw in a couple crushed garlic cloves that kicked up the flavor just enough to give a plain cracker some taste if you're not eating it with pita bread. Goes great with apples, pretzels, bagel, sandwich spread EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is really authentic!! I had made a recipe for hummus from the Austin Spa that just didn't taste good at all - so I was cautious about trying my hand at this again. I didn't alter the recipe at all and we really liked it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Takes a while to get over the garlic hummus but this tastes fabulous with pita. In fact, I cooked up a fabulous dish with chummus and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitana
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm Arab. This recipe was good except for the lack of garlic and thickness. Now if you don't like garlic, then you'd like this. But if you do then it's almost essential in hummus. Add some water to water it down a bit or you might have to eat it with a knife and fork! Overall, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious!!! For the Americans who can't do without garlic here is another way to add it without overpowering your hummus with it: In the last 5 minutes of your boiling water with beans add some whole cloves of garlic in the water and let them boil with your beans. Add them in the blender with the rest of your ingredients, and bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
The perfect hummus recipe! Thanks for posting this recipe. This hummus was very creamy and delicious. I followed the exact recipe except that I used canned chickpeas instead of fresh. I used one can of chickpeas, reserving half of the liquid in the can to use in the hummus. I also halved the rest of the ingredients, but used only 1/3 cup of the tahini. Very yummy. If you like garlic, go ahead and add a few cloves, but I found that this recipe doesn't need the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States