Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
If you are looking for good hummus that is somewhat similar to the store or restaurant, I recommend just giving up. I will never try making hummus again. I tried SO HARD. I used almost two cups of water for half a recipe, I followed the recipe and even added extra. Although it was a thick paste (how is this possible after adding all the water and pureeing for 45 minutes??) I decided not to toss the batch, although my husband recommended it. It was only edible after adding a lot of oil, seasoning salt and I actually added milk. This got good reviews, but I am not sure why!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This recipe was just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
VERY good! however, know that 3 cups of beans makes a LOT of hummus! for appetizer portions, it makes enough for like, about 75 people!!! I took it to 2 different parties and gave lots away. (I didn't know you could freeze it or I would have done that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My taste buds must be adapapted to the American version with garlic. I was not crazy about it. The tahini flavor came through more than I would have preferred as well. I did add more lemon juice and a generous amount of salt as I used dried beans instead of canned. I don't think it is a bad recipe - I just think it comes down to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
my first time making homemade hummus, this is so easy and very good. I think the cumin gives this recipe something special that I don't usually find in hummus. so delicious, I will make this again, although it will be awhile as this makes a TON! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very yummy! I did add a few cloves of garlic to the beans while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Yummy! this recipe is definitely authentic. I added some roasted garlic to spice up the flavor a bit and it turned out great. Just like in Israel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but found it really hard to get a good consistency in a blender. It's probably best to puree the cooked chickpeas in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The recipe is a good basic hummous. I like to put a bay leaf in when I cook the beans (never canned). Its actually traditional to serve additional tehina (diluted with water to form a sauce) on top of the hummous, with olive oil and colorful spices such as paprika for decoration. Many people also garnish with olives, hot sauce, or if you want to make a meal out of it, ful (cooked fava beans). ps Hummous is not low quality Italian food where you douse it with garlic. It should convey the creamy nutty flavor of chickpeas and sesame. Just a bit is good imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I couldn't help myself, had to add garlic. The taste is fantasitc. It killed my blender though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States