Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this recipe without any changes except that my family loves loves loves garlic so we added a lot and it was great. I will never again buy it from the store, and will always always use this recipe! great for veggies, crackers, and pita. we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I really liked it. Dried garbanzo beans are a lot less expensive so I was happy to find a recipe that explained how to cook them. Personally I like garlic so I added quite a bit. Also used cumin seeds since that's what I had on hand. Great recipe. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm the author of the recipe. Add as much garlic as you like. In the USA, you may need more than specified in the recipe since the garlic here in Israel is incredibly strong and potent. To the person who "knows" authentic chummus b/c you ate it at a few restaurants in Israel and Greece... um, well, which restaurants? Because unless you were eating in a restaurant that specialized in chummus, you were eating industrialized chummus--which is kind of like eating spaghetti at Sabarro (sp?) and saying that you know authentic Italian cuisine. Chummus is an art here and you've got to know where to go to find the good stuff. I'm not saying this recipe parallels Abu Chasan or Bahadonas, but for homemade chummus, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was wonderful first time making very easy and I did follow directions exact.I maybe stupid but when some others say followed recipe exact but added,ha ha ha excuse me but not exact.and simone specifically said that dry garbanzo is what makes the difference do not use cann chick peas.then reviewer says oh a short cut use cann chick peas OMG REALLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was simple and easy to make - And WOW did it make a LOT - but a little bland for my tastes. I prepared as directed but added garlic while boiling, a little more than 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice and sea salt. Rather than top with olive oil, I lightly dusted it with paprika (wish I would have had smoked) and it turned out great. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I liked the hummus and found it yummy with homemade pita chips. However, this is not a blender recipe. You need a food processer. And I found the olive oil a bit overpowering. Fresh, high quality olive oil is essential. Maybe mine wasn't fresh enough, or high quality enough. And I didn't end up using it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
SUPER YUMMY!! I just got back from a trip to the Middle East and had to try to replicate the amazing hummus I experienced while I was there. This recipe is not only easy, it is GREAT! I was hungry so I used organic canned beans, but the result was so good I can only imagine how awesome it would be with freshly cooked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is good, but a little too much tahini and oil for my taste; I cut down to 1/2 cup and 1/3 cup respectively, and added more lemon juice. My hummus ALWAYS comes out light and creamy. Do not use a blender - use a food processor. Even better, use a vitamix and a whole peeled lemon :) I add black pepper and fresh cilantro near the end and pulse just a few times. Roasted red pepper is nice too. If I want it spicy, I will add cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
It's good even though I HAD to use canned chickpeas. I agree, it's light and yummy -- a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Editor's Note: The garlic ingredient was added to the recipe on 1/21/10 to better reflect the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States