Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
So simple, so tasty. If cumin isn't your thing, then don't add it. Still a great foundation for subtle variations. I added a couple tablespoons of hemp hearts for protein with a mild pine nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
found the tahini to be overpowering, so will just use 1/4 cup next time and add more to taste. Great recipe otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great basic recipe. There is definitely a difference between canned and dried beans that you have to pre-cook, with the latter being the best choice. I have had hummus in Israel and Jordan and various middle eastern restaurants in NYC and I still can't find one that compares but this comes pretty close
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygirl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
It is a great recipe, but I do like to add extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Excellent! This recipe has become my base of hummus. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is exactly the way I make hummus except that I slow cook the beans for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimandDennis Bemis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I used half the amt of chickpeas, but used the same amt of oil, lemon, and cumin, and 3 cloves garlic instead of 1 (but my garlic was old and not so potent). I left out the tehina because mine was expired, so I added a tablespoon sesame seeds. Will have to try again with tehina! Note: half the chickpeas still made a quart of hummus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. So light and fresh tasting. To cut down on fat, I substituted tofu for the tahini. When I was out of tofu, I tried it with fat-free yogurt. It works perfectly with either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I have a question. How essential is the overnight soak on the beans?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bryannelson00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States