Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
well simone...we "know" what "hummus" is..since its a part of our culture for so long but im not sure you do. Can't blame you, its new to ur culture, and originally (since many manny years ago) a middle-eastern/arabic dish since before the establishment of what you like to call "israel". Anyway, hopefully your fellows wont be burning up so many olive trees in the future so you can continue to enjoy that delicious olive oil on your so called "chummus"..hahahahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The secret is the cooked and NOT CANNED garbanzo beans. What I did was cook 6 cups of dried garbanzo beans, used half and stored the rest in the fridge (or I could have used the freezer but this recipe turned so good that I will soon make some more). By the evening only about a tablespoon was left cause I was so happy with how it turned, I shared most of it with friends, family and neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fotini Tufte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Best Hummus ever. I have lived, and eaten hummus all around the Middle East and I can't find better than this recipe. Hint use plenty lemon and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Ive been trying several hummus recipes for the last year or so and I finally found the one.. I tweaked the lemon and garlic amounts a little bit to my taste but this recipe is spot on. Thank you! To the author of the recipe: It sounds like you know your stuff and Im wondering if you have any suggestions on things to add. Im not sure if its the american version of hummus that adds things such as roasted peppers, sun dried tomatoes, etc. but I would love to hear any suggestions from someone who really knows the culture. Please let me know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm native Windsor, On and was raised around middle eastern familys i always loved getting home made Hummus from friends and from arabic home style restraunts when i moved away from all these arabic people i was deprived from a good authentic hummus on many occasions my family tried making our own but never ended up like this one thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
So simple, so tasty. If cumin isn't your thing, then don't add it. Still a great foundation for subtle variations. I added a couple tablespoons of hemp hearts for protein with a mild pine nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
found the tahini to be overpowering, so will just use 1/4 cup next time and add more to taste. Great recipe otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great basic recipe. There is definitely a difference between canned and dried beans that you have to pre-cook, with the latter being the best choice. I have had hummus in Israel and Jordan and various middle eastern restaurants in NYC and I still can't find one that compares but this comes pretty close
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygirl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
It is a great recipe, but I do like to add extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Excellent! This recipe has become my base of hummus. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enabled2k

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States