Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
It was the best recipe so far this is #4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Toralba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I think the reason this recipe is rated so high is because those who make it have to adjust the recipe and then it turns out right. These are very delicious and had my kids coming back for more. That being said, they are not the consistency of a tortilla. I agree with others, it is more like a pie crust in consistency, and is very flaky. Maybe with some adjustments of water and shortening ratios (like most of the high raters did) it would be more like a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very authentic, especially if you use lard instead of Crisco. Tastes and cooks just like my momma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I love this it may not be Mexican but it sure fit with the Phillipines in my family mixed with black pepper corn and curry made a wonderful creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
These were easy to make and pretty good, but not my favorite tortilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The alleged tortillas come out tasting like pastry shells and get super hard 15 minutes after cooking them. I have never made a tortilla recipe using shortening and never will again. Find a recipe without shortening and use one with milk. You'll thank me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Carvelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Honestly terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was WAY too flaky, tasty but fell apart while trying to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I wonder if this recipe calls for too much shortening. The tortillas I made were more like flat biscuits, in that they were not pliable and were very flaky. They tasted great, and my boyfriend loved them - although he kept calling it flatbread and we had to use them for "open-faced tortillas" because we couldn't bend them without breaking them. Another reviewer suggested Esther Nelson's recipe, and I agree that it was better (the recipe is exactly the same, except hers calls for only 2 tablespoons of shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've tried several tortilla recipes and this one is my last stop, no need to look any futher! Perfect! I used organic palm shortening and I think that and the hot water makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States