Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My boyfriend is latino and I've been trying to make flour tortillas for years with no success. Finally tried this recipe. Lessen the recipe to yield 8. Followed the recipe exactly and used really hot water. Came out perfect. Boyfriend said it reminded him from when he was back home. :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at making torttias. This recipe was easy and came out so good.. I will be making this again. I used organic shorting it was all I had. They were fluffy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Thanks for posting this great recipe! I adjusted the quantity down to 6 servings. Used just a bit less salt and baking powder, hot milk instead of water, a heaping tablespoon of lard/Crisco combo, and crossed my fingers! I've tried a few flour tortilla recipes and just couldn't quit. I added the milk and kneaded only ten turns. Oiled my hands up just a tiny bit, shaped the dough into a ball, divided into six balls, covered with a damp towel, and set aside for 45 minutes. Flour dusted the counter, heated the unoiled griddle under medium flame, rolled one tortilla THIN, cooked for 30 seconds a side. Moved on to the next one. BEST, BEST, BEST effort ever :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I don't always have manteca (lard) around, I was hoping this recipe would be a good alternative with the crisco. It didn't make the soft fluffy tortilla I'm used to but I think these would be excellent as quesadillas. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe! The tortillas were amazing. I used the measurements as a guide but just added more water and shortening until the consistency was right. I am a vegetarian so I used vegetable shortening and used less salt than was recommended and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Loved it, it was easy and came out great. Reminded me of my grandmother's tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
A great tortilla recipe if you use VERY hot water I didn't realize what a difference it could make, now I know what I've been doing wrong all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Tried the recipe ,,, its really fulfy and light ,, I even substituted shortening with vegetable oil ,, it worked great ,, am planning to change the the white flour to bran flour ,, shall feedback you with the results .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Way too flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States