Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I was just browsing in the Mexican section and found this recipe. I am Mexican and yes, as another reviewer suggested, lard is the best way to make them for "authentic" taste, but honestly, who needs all that fat??? In the beginning my mother used to make them with Lard, but since my dad found out his cholesterol level was so high, my mom started to make them with shortening. I have also always made them with shortening and I cannot imagine now having them any other way. This is a great recipe and a suggestion to you all: try the butter flavored shortening, it makes them taste great! For a great alternative, you can substitute sugar and cinnamon for the salt, makes healthier type of bunelos! Oh and for those reviewers that say these were too tough, you have to realize that you have to use extremely hot water, as hot as your hands can handle. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I wanted to address the issue of the Tortillas going hard after being made. Being from Mexico, I've never seen a woman making toritillas without having a Kitchen towel folded over and stacking the tortillas inbetween as they are comming off the griddle or comal. Infact my mother will go a step further and place a Kitchen towel (folded in half) into a gallon sized ziplock bag, this all in the effort to keep the tortillas pliable/soft. Once you are all through making your taco's, burritos, etc, you can take the towel out of the bag and store the tortillas in the bag, in your fridge. Whenever you need one or two, reheat on a hot griddle pan turning as necessary and they become pliable once again. Tortillas are like bread, you leave them out in the open, they get hard. Another thing that will make them hard is leaving them unattended on the griddle too long, the moisture is wisked out and not suitable for tacos, burritos, or anything. I hope this additional step keeps the rating for this recipe high, as it really is no different (except for lard), than my Mexican mother makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Some people must think that 'authentic' means tastes like store bought. It does not. Last summer while my husband and I were in Old Town San Diego we bought tortillas from a lovely Hispanic woman who was cooking on an outdoor griddle in front of a restaurant. These tortillas tast exactly like the ones we had!(except she used lard) I did change a couple things. I used 3 T. shortning and 2 butter. I used 1&1/2 t.salt and it was just right. The water I used was just under boiling. I have a Kitchen Aid and I added the water slowly as the mixer worked. The dough was perfect and a snap to roll out. Actually I rolled them paper thin and they puffed up perfect. 30 seconds on each side. After mixing the dough I divided it up into golf ball sized rounds THEN let it rest under a damp towel for an hour. That way you don't compress the dough making the rounds after the dough rests. Very easy to roll. If your tortillas are hard and crumbly you're cooking them too long or the dough is too dry. They are supposed to be soft with brown bubbles. This was so simple and so 'authentic' I will never buy another pack of store tortillas! Thank you Jamie!5++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
775 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I don't mean to be so blunt but the tortilla recipe submitted by Esther Nelson is much much better. i tried this recipe 3 times and this recipe did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I love this recipe but I changed the ingredients up to make a healthier, vegan version. I used whole wheat flour, and instead of shortening I used grape seed oil. The results were awesome! My husband and son ate most of them as I was making them and I had to make more for dinner. Canola oil would work just fine instead of the grape seed oil. Thanks for the recipe, as a vegan it is nice to have a simple, quick recipe for an old comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Ok, i understand all the reviews now about it being more flaky like a pie crust. I used another recipe similar to this,and the same thing happened. I think the error was in how thin we rolled it out. My husband gave me a tip, hes mexican and has seen his mom make it plenty of times, and said NOT to roll it out super thin. If it has more thickness, it becomes more pliable and not so flaky. ALSO, make sure your pan is on medium -high heat. if not, it cooks too slow, making the tortilla cook through too hard. Ill try it next time, and see if that makes a difference! As for the taste, it was wonderful!! Practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I read other peoples reviews and decided to use two tablespoons of shortening for every cup of flour. Mine turned out to be completely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I liked the recipe. It reminded me of my grandmas. The only things I had to change to make them like hers was to use 3T. Margarine and 1 tsp. salt. once I did that everything was great!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I should've read the reviews! This is not a very good recipe. Too salty. Too tough. Too much of my time spent on this project only to throw everything in the trash. I grew up eating homemade tortilla and was excited to see a rather highly rated recipe here. Don't be misled. This is not the authentic recipe you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Everyone! When I first submitted my recipe, like 10 years ago, I did it for a computer class in college and had to hurry up and finish it without really giving it much thought. SO - just change the ingredients like this and they will be awesome!! 3 Cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp. salt, 1/3 cup shortening/lard, and 1 1/4 cup HOT water. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States