Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
make them thinner than the pic and you'll love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I followed directions exactly as written. I rate taste at 4 stars however, they were hard to work with. After cooking for 30 seconds each side (after 1 minute didn't work), they did dry out and would not fold as a burrito should. We ate them with a fork but they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This recipe was okay but too salty. I added cheese to make a quesadilla for my daughter and it was almost too salty to eat. Alone, the tortilla tastes good but it is missing something. I wish I knew what that was. I won't likely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have been looking for a good tortilla recipe for close to 10 years and now I finally have one! These are soft and easy to make. For the water, The hotter the better and it was so simple using my Kitchen Aide. It took less than 5 minutes initially, and then the hour rest time. Rolling them took the most time (I'm hopelessly slow), but even that was only 15 minutes! Oh, and the cost comparison? About fifty cents as opposed to the $2 or $3 at the store!! ~high five~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
did not like at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fantastic recipe! A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made these tortillias and they turned out great. I used shortning for cooking my tortillias. I read the reviews after I made the tortillias. I used a plate to set my tortillias. They remained soft. I let them sit on the stove for a few hours. Now that I now that they could harden if I leave them out, I will be very cautious about leaving them out. This is a very good tortillia recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I substituted Smart Balance spread for the shortening (no hydrogenation) and used a food processor to put it all together. First the dry ingredients went in, then cut in the Smart Balance by pulsing, then added the water little by little. Once it was wet, I ran it until it was doughy. Easy! My kids are totally hooked on store-bought tortillas so I thought they might object to my irregularly shaped and relatively thicker tortillas, but they loved them. My 7-year-old requested I made them "every day". I did not find them to be too salty at all, or tough. I kept them on a warmed plate with an ever-so-slightly dampened dish towel on top as I made them and they stayed nice and hot through dinner. I didn't need to cook them more than maybe 40 seconds per side to get some nice golden spots all over. These are not like your store-bough tortillas, at least mine turned out thicker (maybe like the thickness of a "gordita" style tortilla). I did not let them rest before cooking them; I don't know if this makes a difference. But I like that these have five simple ingredients; no preservatives or anything weird like that. I'm thinking about turning on my oven and slightly toasting the leftovers brushed with butter and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar for my own secret dessert. Don't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These are so quick and easy! I make this recipe all the time and they are WAY better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Just did not work :( Like pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States