Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fantastic recipe! A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made these tortillias and they turned out great. I used shortning for cooking my tortillias. I read the reviews after I made the tortillias. I used a plate to set my tortillias. They remained soft. I let them sit on the stove for a few hours. Now that I now that they could harden if I leave them out, I will be very cautious about leaving them out. This is a very good tortillia recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I substituted Smart Balance spread for the shortening (no hydrogenation) and used a food processor to put it all together. First the dry ingredients went in, then cut in the Smart Balance by pulsing, then added the water little by little. Once it was wet, I ran it until it was doughy. Easy! My kids are totally hooked on store-bought tortillas so I thought they might object to my irregularly shaped and relatively thicker tortillas, but they loved them. My 7-year-old requested I made them "every day". I did not find them to be too salty at all, or tough. I kept them on a warmed plate with an ever-so-slightly dampened dish towel on top as I made them and they stayed nice and hot through dinner. I didn't need to cook them more than maybe 40 seconds per side to get some nice golden spots all over. These are not like your store-bough tortillas, at least mine turned out thicker (maybe like the thickness of a "gordita" style tortilla). I did not let them rest before cooking them; I don't know if this makes a difference. But I like that these have five simple ingredients; no preservatives or anything weird like that. I'm thinking about turning on my oven and slightly toasting the leftovers brushed with butter and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar for my own secret dessert. Don't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These are so quick and easy! I make this recipe all the time and they are WAY better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Just did not work :( Like pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made these for the first time tonight and they were very easy to make. I tried the enchiladas I made with them and they were very doughy. Don't suggest using this recipe for enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was OKAY I would use 1 tsp Salt next time. 2 Tsp. makes it too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
my husband is mexican and he says they dont taste like his gandmother made...they were good when they were just off the cast iron griddle...then later they were chewy...not sure if i did somthing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
super easy, and really good. i used butter instead of shortening (i mean, if you're going to use saturated fat, why not go with what nature will provide you with?), and they turned out great. so much better than store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are not very authentic. As written they taste more like salty pie crust, there is simply too much shortening. Other recipes with a cup or more flour use less then half the shortening (but more water). On the plus side, they were very easy to roll out. But there are better options available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States