Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Turned out great.. I knew it would be more flaky and taste fresh compared to store bought.. 1 tip if I may, I used a small saucer to cut into perfect round shapes . Made it alot easier for me anyways... Good eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Too much salt! Should use apprx 1 teaspoon instead of 2...to make it AUTHENTIC use LARD (like Morrel's) NOT shortening or oil....shortening or oil will make Tortilla hard and cracky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very easy to make. I accidentally used way too much water, but was able to compensate by adding flour until it looked more like dough ( I cut the recipe in half, but misread the water portion). Anyway they turned out great! I used a tortilla press and a tortilla warmer that had been gathering dust in my cabinet. Worked great! Next time I'll pay more attention to the recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I grew up watching my mom and grandmother make tortillas. Same ingrediants and no receipe. I must say these are extremely salty, uneasy to roll out and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Just made these and love them! Pliable, thin and every tortilla puffed perfectly every time. It was extremely satisfying. They are a little salty for my taste, but my husband will be in heaven. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
not good. !!! Too salty , too flaky for our authentic mexican taste!!! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp, replaced the lard for canola oil 1/3 cup .. lard works also reduced to 2 Tb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I can say that these LOOKED pretty and I was happy with the results until I ate them. Followed the recipe exactly. These tasted too much like pie crusts. They either have too much flour in this recipe or too much shortening. Kept them warm with a towel in a zip lock bag and they were still tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe has good flavor but to me it taste more like a biscuit not a tortilla I dont think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerilett16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now -- once exactly as the directions specified, and once where I substituted 1/4 cup of the shortening for sunflower oil and didn't allow the dough to cool before rolling it out. While it tasted great both times, the consistency and ease of making the tortillas vastly improved with the veggie oil substitution. Overall, a great basic recipe. These are definitely becoming a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We make this recipe at least once a week. I love the homemade taste and how simple they are to put together. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mashbella

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States