Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now -- once exactly as the directions specified, and once where I substituted 1/4 cup of the shortening for sunflower oil and didn't allow the dough to cool before rolling it out. While it tasted great both times, the consistency and ease of making the tortillas vastly improved with the veggie oil substitution. Overall, a great basic recipe. These are definitely becoming a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We make this recipe at least once a week. I love the homemade taste and how simple they are to put together. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mashbella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
they are great. made them twice so far. Except i put a lil sprinkle of garlic powder for extra tast :) my boyfriend likes to grab and eat them by themselves while i cook them because he cannot wait for dinner :) I will def make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
there is to much shortening for this recipe. It was to wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Good flavour, but very dry. Needs about twice as much water as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Amazing recipe!! However I would note that in order to get them extremely soft and pliable, use pre-creamed shortening. Using anything but will be opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
What a disappointment, It fell apart, too much baking powder & too much flour. I don't recommend this recipe at all, just go to the store & buy the tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Not thrilled with this recipe. Not plyable enough for folding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I changed the recipe just a bit and it is so good! I don't have shortening so I used sunflower oil and 2 cups whole wheat flour with 1 cup white. I also did it in my breadmaker because I can't knead with my shoulder injury. They turned out great. I may cut the oil a bit in the next one to reduce the fat a bit, but this will be my go to recipe when I want tortillas - which is all the time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I did not care for these. They were pretty salty and way too much shortening; I have it stuck to the roof of my mouth, yuck. They were very crumbly too, I couldn't flip them without them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States