Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe! The tortillas were amazing. I used the measurements as a guide but just added more water and shortening until the consistency was right. I am a vegetarian so I used vegetable shortening and used less salt than was recommended and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Loved it, it was easy and came out great. Reminded me of my grandmother's tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
A great tortilla recipe if you use VERY hot water I didn't realize what a difference it could make, now I know what I've been doing wrong all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Tried the recipe ,,, its really fulfy and light ,, I even substituted shortening with vegetable oil ,, it worked great ,, am planning to change the the white flour to bran flour ,, shall feedback you with the results .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Way too flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These tasted like lard. I use Maseca (corn masa flour) and they taste very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I followed the directions, I mixed the ingredients, I let it sit, I rolled them out, I cooked them - tortillas. So super easy and delicious!!! Who knew making tortillas was so simple? Thank you for easy to follow directions, a great video and a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
OMG! This is exactly what we have been looking for!! After moving from the Arizona desert/Cali/Mexico border our only option for tortillas has been store bought and they are loaded with ingredients i can't pronounce and taste AWFUL!! It is so nice to have authentic flour tortillas b/c you can't eat just one! And like another reviewer stated, they are like bread and will go bad. Have to keep in the fridge and use quickly. will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a review based on my first time using this recipe. I actually found that there was a little too much shortening in the recipe and next time I will use a little less shortening and a little more water. The flavor was good, tasted very similar to tortillas I tasted made fresh by a Mexican woman I know. I am going to try variations with ingredients that are keyed more to my dietary needs, but for a basic tortilla recipe, this is spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States