Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These tasted like lard. I use Maseca (corn masa flour) and they taste very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I followed the directions, I mixed the ingredients, I let it sit, I rolled them out, I cooked them - tortillas. So super easy and delicious!!! Who knew making tortillas was so simple? Thank you for easy to follow directions, a great video and a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
OMG! This is exactly what we have been looking for!! After moving from the Arizona desert/Cali/Mexico border our only option for tortillas has been store bought and they are loaded with ingredients i can't pronounce and taste AWFUL!! It is so nice to have authentic flour tortillas b/c you can't eat just one! And like another reviewer stated, they are like bread and will go bad. Have to keep in the fridge and use quickly. will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a review based on my first time using this recipe. I actually found that there was a little too much shortening in the recipe and next time I will use a little less shortening and a little more water. The flavor was good, tasted very similar to tortillas I tasted made fresh by a Mexican woman I know. I am going to try variations with ingredients that are keyed more to my dietary needs, but for a basic tortilla recipe, this is spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I add a granulated garlic in dough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Why did I ever buy them at the store? These things are so simple, fast and easy I will never buy again! I just leave the dough wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge and cut off what I need, roll it into a ball, roll in out and whamo. I have one with dinner every night and just love em! Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpittman1972

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I added homemade taco seasoning to the wraps and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These tortillas are great! My sister's fiance' is half Mexican and he says they taste just like his grandma use to make in Mexico. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Spectacular recipe!! Thanks for sharing. This one was so good my family begs me to make the tortillas whenever we have taco nights rather than buy them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These were easy to make, but reminded me of biscuits. With that, the kids loved the biscuit taste. I would recommend cutting the salt down to 1/2 tsp as the tortillas were a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States