Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've tried several tortilla recipes and this one is my last stop, no need to look any futher! Perfect! I used organic palm shortening and I think that and the hot water makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed the direction exactly and I think they come out to oily. Next time I make them I will reduce the amount or shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Boy oh boy, did I have the measurements wrong! I have been making tortillas all my life but they have never come out exactly right. Turns out this recipe was just the ticket for perfect tortillas. The only thing I changed was using "butter flavored" Crisco instead of lard. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Mastillo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have not tried this recipe as it is very similar to the recipe I grew watching my mom & dad make. The only difference istead of lard or shorting they used bacon fat less than the amount of shorting called for in this recipe about 2 tablespoons per cup of flour and they are out of this world!!! Bulldogg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Howlin4 used milk instead of water. Regular milk is a base, not an acid. A recipe calling for baking soda (which is also a base) needs an acid such as buttermilk, vinegar, yogurt in order to activate it and make the tortilla cake rise. Stick to very hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My boyfriend is latino and I've been trying to make flour tortillas for years with no success. Finally tried this recipe. Lessen the recipe to yield 8. Followed the recipe exactly and used really hot water. Came out perfect. Boyfriend said it reminded him from when he was back home. :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at making torttias. This recipe was easy and came out so good.. I will be making this again. I used organic shorting it was all I had. They were fluffy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Thanks for posting this great recipe! I adjusted the quantity down to 6 servings. Used just a bit less salt and baking powder, hot milk instead of water, a heaping tablespoon of lard/Crisco combo, and crossed my fingers! I've tried a few flour tortilla recipes and just couldn't quit. I added the milk and kneaded only ten turns. Oiled my hands up just a tiny bit, shaped the dough into a ball, divided into six balls, covered with a damp towel, and set aside for 45 minutes. Flour dusted the counter, heated the unoiled griddle under medium flame, rolled one tortilla THIN, cooked for 30 seconds a side. Moved on to the next one. BEST, BEST, BEST effort ever :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I don't always have manteca (lard) around, I was hoping this recipe would be a good alternative with the crisco. It didn't make the soft fluffy tortilla I'm used to but I think these would be excellent as quesadillas. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States