Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great recipe. Fairly easy to make without too much fuss or clean up. These ones are easier to store than others, as they stay softer longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but mine came out way to salty and VERY thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My grandmother made tortillas everyday, she never added baking powder, that ingredient can be omitted, will also help in keeping them pliable longer. She also used 1 tbs of lard per cup of flour (I use shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We tried this recipe with a group of friends during our vacations and it was not only simple and easy but delicious! We wrote it down at the "Guests' Book" for anyone that visits the house to have it at hand. Thanks a lot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA NARVAJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma De Buenos Aires, Argentina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks! I substituted 2/3 the flour for whole wheat flour. Tortillas are a bit tricky, I made this recipe 3-4 times before I got it right. Completely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe turned out excellent. The tortillas were soft and flexible.They stored well and tasted just as good the next day. I made 16 decent size tortillas with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I just finished making these because I was really in the mood and there were so many positive ratings for this recipe. I never change anything the 1st time I make it just because ya neva know!! But now that I have made and ate three small tortillas I have to say that they did come out pretty thick, they were also a bit too salty and I made sure to sift the flour, salt and powder. I think I would try this again because it was easy, but I would reduce the salt by half at least and roll the dough out thinner. Overall it reminded me of a pot pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made these just the other day. They remind me of my neighbor when I was growing up. She would send us off to school. Tortilla with butter in hand. Envy of all the other children. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I got a tortilla press for Christmas, and these were the first tortillas I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and they were so delicious. I will start to experiement a little now with whole wheat flour, maybe a little butter, but I wanted to have a base line. Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe is great! I love it. This was the first time I have ever made tortillas. They are delicious. There's nothing like homemade tortillas coming straight off the stove. I did take advice from other reviews. I used only 2 table spoons of shortning per cup of flour. I also wrapped the pre-made tortillas in a towel. To keep them from getting hard prior to cooking. I am currently still cooking them and putting them directly in a storage bag to keep them soft and warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States