Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I generally use a different recipe from my aunt's family. These were okay, but I did have to use the oil in the pan, which I'm not used to (always used just a hot pan). Were good for enchiladas though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANDROYAI
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
these were bland. this was my first time making tortillas so getting round tortillas was almost impossible, but not only that. these tasted like dry paste. yukky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe and another listed on this site for tortillas and could not get either to produce suitable results. Each recipe had differing amounts of shortening but I got the same results after preparing both. I feel as if it is not the recipe, but possibly the technique involved. I am not sure what consistency the dough should be after adding the water. It also seemed like the more i kneaded the dough, the tougher it became. I feel that those of us who have had bad luck with the recipe would benefit from a more in-depth description of the steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this recipe is far mor the best!! Delicioso! Although, i preferr the corn tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good & very easy to make. The only change I will make in further uses of this recipe is a reduction in the amount of salt. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this according to the recipe and how other review advised on keeping the tortillas soft. But mine still became stiff and hard. So instead of Baking powder, I substituted 2 tsp of active dry yeast and followed the rest of the recipe as is, which did the trick. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I am not Mexican, but when we don't have flour tortillas, and can't get to the store, these are wonderful!!! We made a discovery with this recipe. If you roll out a tortilla and fry it in oil instead of on a dry skillet, you have sopapillas and they are so good with cinnamon sugar or dipped in chocolate or strawberry sauce!! Try it. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were very good. Remember to roll them THIN because they poof up! Mine did not crumble at all but were very flaky like biscuits. Went wonderfuly with Homemade Fajitas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Not sure what I did, but it ended up being much more pastry than tortilla! Really flaky and crumbly, I couldn't actually wrap anything in it without it breaking apart. However, they were very tasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great recipe. Fairly easy to make without too much fuss or clean up. These ones are easier to store than others, as they stay softer longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States