Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
AWESOME! Followed tip about kitchen towels/plastic bag - worked perfectly. Made melt-in-your-mouth tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
These were yummy, a bit salty though. I made just as directed. I did not find these to be tough, but a bit flakey. I could not lift these with out it flaking. I tried thick and thin. It seemed the thinner the better. I think these will be great with a bit less salt. I'm sensitive to salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are wonderful! I'll never buy tortillas at the store again! I used a canola and butter, since I didn't have shortening on-hand, and they came out awesome! I agree that you should cut back on the salt a little, these were pretty salty. I think the tricks are...you need very, very hot water, mix and knead with your hands, adding flour as needed to get the right consistency. Once it's a smooth ball (not dry OR sticky), it's ready. I only needed to heat for 30 seconds per side, and flipped when they started to bubble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Good. A bit pasty, I'll experiment with some other options, but this is a good start. My tortillas got better as I went along because I learned 1) don't roll out super thin 2) dont' try to cook them so they are brown and toasted looking- just until they get started looking a bit golden (cooking too long dries them out) 3) instead of covering them with a dishtowel, allow each tortilla to briefly cool on a plate before placing in a ziploc bag containing a moist paper towel (you will melt the plastic if you put them directly in off the griddle). I used lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The first time I made this, it turned out horrible. Too salty, and I didn't let it rest. Not letting the dough rest is NOT an option!! Wait at least an hour, then it'll be the right consistency. Otherwise you'll have a lump of greasy dough that refuses to be rolled out. Once the dough has rested, roll out into very thin tortillas the size of the pan you'll be using. Fold a kitchen towel in half and stack the cooked tortillas inside it. This will keep them pliable and soft. Once you're done either eat right away or store in the fridge. Since the tortillas get hard in the fridge, heat gently in the pan just until soft again. It's important to use VERY hot water for the dough as well. Making a perfect tortilla takes practice, so be patient! This is a great authentic recipe and as far as the salt goes, I use 1 tsp, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I found that these are very good tasting but don't think about folding them. they broke like tile. I tried making them twice but nada. My guess is that there is to much lard or shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I generally use a different recipe from my aunt's family. These were okay, but I did have to use the oil in the pan, which I'm not used to (always used just a hot pan). Were good for enchiladas though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANDROYAI
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
these were bland. this was my first time making tortillas so getting round tortillas was almost impossible, but not only that. these tasted like dry paste. yukky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I tried this recipe and another listed on this site for tortillas and could not get either to produce suitable results. Each recipe had differing amounts of shortening but I got the same results after preparing both. I feel as if it is not the recipe, but possibly the technique involved. I am not sure what consistency the dough should be after adding the water. It also seemed like the more i kneaded the dough, the tougher it became. I feel that those of us who have had bad luck with the recipe would benefit from a more in-depth description of the steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this recipe is far mor the best!! Delicioso! Although, i preferr the corn tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States