Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I did not like the consistency. It was much like pie crust. I believe there is too much shortening in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
My cooking techer at school had us make these the other day and they were amazing! homemade tortillas are one of my favorite appitizers:) and they're actually healthier than fried bread and a lot more yummier. i guarantee you'll like them if you give them a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Okay, now this isn't my first rodeo nor my first homemade tortilla. These were NOT flour tortillas, they were pretty much pie crust in a tortilla disguise. These were very flaky, and crumbled when I tried to fold them. Tasted salty and like pie crust, we all agreed on that. Sorry for the bad rating, but I know a good tortilla when I eat one, this just wasn't it. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum! These were great! I didn't have shortening (oops) so I used real butter. They were absolutely delicious! It seemed to make the texture a little softer than I think shortening does. I'll try it with shortening next time just to compare but I might stick with using butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I just made these tortillas just like the recipe says and they turned out delicious!!! I may use some now to make tortilla chips. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I just made these tonight and they were so easy and the ones I didn't burn tasted great!! I'm not very good with cooking with cast iron yet so a few ended up burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I think this recipe was amazing and I will never buy store bought tortillas again...! Some things that I did differently or had problems with and made a solution! When I did all the ingredients my dough was flaky. So I added more boiling hot hot water just a tablespoon more. Then I think mixing the dough by hand makes them twice as better. Before mixing all the ingredient I added a ton of butter two my hands and it gave the tortillas a butter flavor as well... Remember the older the flour is the more water you will need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
AWESOME! Followed tip about kitchen towels/plastic bag - worked perfectly. Made melt-in-your-mouth tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
These were yummy, a bit salty though. I made just as directed. I did not find these to be tough, but a bit flakey. I could not lift these with out it flaking. I tried thick and thin. It seemed the thinner the better. I think these will be great with a bit less salt. I'm sensitive to salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are wonderful! I'll never buy tortillas at the store again! I used a canola and butter, since I didn't have shortening on-hand, and they came out awesome! I agree that you should cut back on the salt a little, these were pretty salty. I think the tricks are...you need very, very hot water, mix and knead with your hands, adding flour as needed to get the right consistency. Once it's a smooth ball (not dry OR sticky), it's ready. I only needed to heat for 30 seconds per side, and flipped when they started to bubble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States