Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Authentic mexican tortillas are made with corn, this is a ridiculous imitation. Please...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It was easy enough to make, but for me, tasted like pie crust and dried out for my husband, rendering it, in his opinion, not edible at that point. So the search is still on for us in the tortilla department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
omg this was easy fast and delicious!!! I'll make it over and over again. used 1\2 cup light oil instead of shortening, rest is like in the recipy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe is has good flavor but does not hold together. I made torillas before with the dump method and I should have known better when I saw how much shortening was in the recipe. They do not hold together after you cook them. Use the Homemade flour tortilla recipe on this site, it is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not bad. The thinner they're rolled the better. Best heated up...can tend to get floury if too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe, but my flour never made a soft ball. It was somewhat falling apart, and by the time it was time to roll out, they were completely hard. I ended up baking them, not at all tortilla dough. I gave it 4 stars because the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
That was yummy!! I put tuna fish inside and it was REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakegurl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good and moist. Actually have flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were so easy and yummy! They kept well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am not sure if I agree that this is authentic. look for a diff one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States