Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
These are awesome!! Fluffy, easy, and just amazing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I tried this recipe the other day for my husband, who was raised with homemade tortillas, and he absolutely loved them. I just made a change of adding about a tablespoon of butter to give them a buttery flavor and they were perfect. They were easy to make and I recommend this recipe for anybody trying to make homemade tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These leave a powdery texture in your mouth. They are bland and this recipie is almost exactly like my pasta recipie. If I tried again I would leave out the baking powder. Tortillas are supposed to be thin, I don't think leavening is necessary. Mine were as thick as a cracker no matter how hard I rolled them out. Halfway through I stopped and added more shortening so they would be easier to work with and that helped a little but they still were not as good as I was hoping for. As a woman who married into a hispanic family this will never fly in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miliani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are excellent, hard to roll thin, but great! They are better a little undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I fed this to about the most picky group of kids, 12 daycare kids from all different walks of life, each child asked for more! they were super great! i ran low on shortning so i substitued butter and it was so perfect and authentic! i will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I thought this was ok. I will make this again only because I know this recipe has potential for me. I thought it had a little too much salt. I love the fact that you can use shortening instead of lard. My mother would always make tortillas when I was younger and I'm hoping I can make them just like she did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very nice comments. I made Tortillas every morning for years. Loved feeding my Family some Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexis Green
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Although I can't roll them into perfect circles, apparently...these are DELICIOUS! I will definitely make these again. GREAT recipe! I cut the shortening in by hand then used my mixer to make it cohesive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Authentic mexican tortillas are made with corn, this is a ridiculous imitation. Please...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It was easy enough to make, but for me, tasted like pie crust and dried out for my husband, rendering it, in his opinion, not edible at that point. So the search is still on for us in the tortilla department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States