Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I usually use another recipe but couldn't find it last night so found and used this one. It has more shortening than I am used to using but they turned out great and everyone enjoyed these tortillas very much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
these cam out great the people who say it didnt must have done something wrong will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pothead81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
they were fine. Not the best but fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I agree with Mommy of Five the butter flavor shortening works really well and the other review they must be kept moist due to the fact they are fresh and dont have all of the preservatives that you find in the store my husband will not eat store bought anymore...and these are much healthier due to the fact YOU have control of what goes in it. Once you make these your family will never want store bought again. Happy Cooking everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gros

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
bland. difficult to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Everyone! When I first submitted my recipe, like 10 years ago, I did it for a computer class in college and had to hurry up and finish it without really giving it much thought. SO - just change the ingredients like this and they will be awesome!! 3 Cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp. salt, 1/3 cup shortening/lard, and 1 1/4 cup HOT water. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These where the best tortillas I have ever made. The only thing I changed was I used half weat flour and half white, and they turned out great! U could bend them in half with out breaking and the flavor was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jzart
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were much better than the lousy ones from the stores. Plus they don't cost anything really to make, just a little bit of time. Will always make these when making something with tortilla shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made flour torillas before but I had never used shortening. These turned out pretty good but not great. I had problems with them breaking when made into enchilladas even though they were wrapped in towels and hot. These seemed a little too much like pie crust but they did have a nice homemade flavor and butter flavor from the shortening. Over all we enjoyed them but next time I will try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States