Authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail (Coctel de Camarones estilo Mexicano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
this was so good! i added a couple shakes of lawry's season salt, a couple of chopped up baby jalapenos (seeds and all), and a squirt of horseradish.. but felt like the original recipe was very close to what we would order when my uncle would take me and my sister to get shrimp cocktail down in San Pedro.. bf said it tasted like what his ex's mother (who happens to be from mexico and a very good cook) would make.. reading back i'm realizing we forgot the avocado.. (oops!).. either way it was delicious.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
First time making coctel de camarones and I couldn't be any happier to say that it was a hit! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
So delicious! I added a few cloves of garlic, but stuck to the recipe other than that. My Family loves, loves it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Thank u so much. I did this recipe tonight n my sis in law n hubby loved it :D first timer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy_1013

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! Staple in out house now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious, fresh tasting shrimp cocktail. It is so similar to a shrimp cocktail I was served in Mexico 20 or more years ago! That cocktail was served in a large beer schooner and I've never had one as good...until now. Per some reviews, I added a touch of horseradish and, similar to my Mexican experience, served it over a bed of shredded lettuce. My husband and I are finishing up the rest with corn chips. Thnk you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
simply awesome, i made this 5 or more times..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famous-Guy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! This had just the right amount of "burn" for my taste. I boiled the shrimp according to Chef John's recipe, so they were very tasty on their own. I marinated the ingredients over night, adding the shrimp & avocado about 6 hours before serving. I used low sodium V-8, as I didn't have the clam-based stuff, and added more than instructed to make mine a little "soupier". This is the only way to have shrimp cocktail, IMHO, when you've got avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved it! it was easy to make. I used red onion and baby shrimp instead. Every one thought it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Villanueva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made it - SO YUM!!!! This being my first time making it, I stuck pretty close to the recipe. Just used 1.5 tomatoes, not a full bunch of cilantro and a regular red onion. Saved the avocados for the side since my hubby doesn't care for them. Chilled for an hour (which I think makes a HUGE difference) and tried it - I didn't need to tweak it at all!! THANK YOU for this recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa Ackerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States