Authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail (Coctel de Camarones estilo Mexicano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Thank u so much. I did this recipe tonight n my sis in law n hubby loved it :D first timer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy_1013

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! Staple in out house now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious, fresh tasting shrimp cocktail. It is so similar to a shrimp cocktail I was served in Mexico 20 or more years ago! That cocktail was served in a large beer schooner and I've never had one as good...until now. Per some reviews, I added a touch of horseradish and, similar to my Mexican experience, served it over a bed of shredded lettuce. My husband and I are finishing up the rest with corn chips. Thnk you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
simply awesome, i made this 5 or more times..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famous-Guy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! This had just the right amount of "burn" for my taste. I boiled the shrimp according to Chef John's recipe, so they were very tasty on their own. I marinated the ingredients over night, adding the shrimp & avocado about 6 hours before serving. I used low sodium V-8, as I didn't have the clam-based stuff, and added more than instructed to make mine a little "soupier". This is the only way to have shrimp cocktail, IMHO, when you've got avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved it! it was easy to make. I used red onion and baby shrimp instead. Every one thought it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Villanueva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made it - SO YUM!!!! This being my first time making it, I stuck pretty close to the recipe. Just used 1.5 tomatoes, not a full bunch of cilantro and a regular red onion. Saved the avocados for the side since my hubby doesn't care for them. Chilled for an hour (which I think makes a HUGE difference) and tried it - I didn't need to tweak it at all!! THANK YOU for this recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa Ackerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Abodolutely delicious thanks!!! I just made 1 change and it was that I added the juice of 3 oranges and it become perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
i love cocteles, so ive been on the hunt for the best of such recipes for a while now. i found this one pretty disappointing. on the plus side, its fresh and light, and creamy avocado goes so nicely with a spicey, choppy prawn mix. unfortunately, it didnt have the horseradish flavour i've come to consider standard, and instead was overpowered by the crunch and flavour of the celery. a bit of celery flavour is nice for the "fresh" flavour, but id rather the kick come from horseradish and chillis than celery crunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States