Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was a really good authentic recipe just like my mom would make exactly almost except i warm the tortillas first in a lil bit of oil THEN dip in sauce then fill them up with a mixture of sourcream,greenonions,tomatoes,and chicken and fill them up with that mixture.. all chopped up ofcourse, and i use just plain mozzerella cheese inside and on top and even queso fresco..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is sooo good soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Pretty close to the real thing, lacks a little flavor. Here's how my mom makes them. Roast the chilies on a flat grill or pan till they are roasted on all sides, (watch them so they don't burn, this will be quick; brings out the flavor a little more). This shouldn't take long. Immediately soak them in hot water till they are soft. In a blender add the chilies (remove tops and seeds depending on how hot you want it), water (a bit at a time), add onion, garlic, oregano and salt. (the measurements are small, but you will get them down depending on your taste). My mom also adds Masa Harina (the corn meal used to make tamales) to thicken it a little if it is too runny. Strain the mixture into a warm pan to keep hot. The tortillas are fried a little bit first then dipped in the sauce. If you don't want to fry them I have also heated them in a pan or grill till they are slightly crispy. We make our enchiladas as layers so simply piling them on top of each other with layers of cheese, shredded chicken (to the chicken we add a little of the enchilada sauce first), and onions. YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Finally someone knows how to really make them authentic! This is how my mom taught me. Except we boil chicken with onion, garlic, salt then shred it and use it as a filling. After that, we fry them. They are soooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
When I lived in Los Angeles one of my dearest friends was a lovely woman from Mexico who came to my home evenings every week and taught me how to cook authentic Mexican recipes. This recipe was one of my favorites and it is so simple with pure tastes. However, as with everything I touch I add a twist. A gorgeous combination of Arbol and Ancho chiles makes this sauce sing as well as adding a very scant amount of cumin (don't go overboard as this spice packs a punch with its distinct pungency). I also prefer to make my own corn tortillas as it's the simplest thing in the world and you are guaranteed the freshest possible ingredients. By adding a bit of chopped green onion and mild green chiles to the cheese filling you score big points in flavor and still keep the authenticity alive. I tend to like my enchiladas oozing melted cheese, so after I plate them I add a spoonful of sauce a bit more crumbled queso cheese on top and slip it into a hot oven for a few minutes. Add the crema (or sour cream), tomatoes and lettuce and voila, perfection! These are decadent and so wonderful. Also, occasionally try the same recipe without the cheese and substitute spicey chicken and roasted potatoes. Mmmmmmmmmm....soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I remember the first time I looked for an enchilada recipe on this site and I thought, who makes enchiladas in a casserole? This of course is how you are supposed to make them. I use my own enchilada sauce and I make my own filling, the queso fresco should only be sprinkled on the top, not used in the filling. Also I don't fry all tortillas at one time and then go back and fill them. I fill them while they're being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I loved the sauce, I did add about 2 tsp chicken base and 1 jalapeno to the water for a little kick. I didn't want to fry the torilla so I rubbed a little oil on each side and then heated them up in a pan until crispy. Then I dipped them in sauce (which I didn't drain, I just took out the seeds from the chili's before putting them in the blender) and added the cheese (I mixed the fresco cheese with chedder cheese for more flavor), rolled them, sprinkled them with cheese, and then broiled them on high just until the cheese was melted on top. This is my new favorite red enchilada recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Awesomesauce! I'm glad somebody finally put something like this up. I never heard or ate enchiladas that were baked in a casserole pan and everytime I eat Mexican I refuse to eat enchiladas cuz they're not made the "right" way. LOL. My mom is from mexico too and she taught me to dip flour tortillas in sauce then fry and while frying add ingredients such as cheese, beef/chicken, onions, etc...So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe. I have tried different ones but this one hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States