Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Love the sauce! I'm on my second batch and I've been using it everywhere you'd use hot sauce! Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was A LOT more work than was worth it. All in all it tasted pretty OK...used Chihuahua cheese instead of queso fresco and that tasted much better. But I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were ok, I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My mom makes some better ones, but these are very delicious too =) I only give it a four stars because I did not enjoy the hot oil jumping on me I got burned like 10 times! I made a batch of potatoe and another one of queso fresco. I also made a bomb homemade salsa verde, served it whith some jarritos yummm... I want to make these again even though I got burn =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
No flavor. Bland. Greasy. Draining the water results in paste. Adding water dilutes of the flavor. Dipping tortillas in sauce first before frying results in grease burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I agree that you must add water to the chilies in the blender or you get paste; not sauce. I wasn't able to get exactly the right ingredients at our Nebraska supermarket, but we improvised with a different type of dried chili and quesadilla cheese. This recipe still turned out great. It's probably not one that I'd do regularly for health reasons, but it definitely hit the spot tonight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I've been looking for an authentic recipe like this for so long, but I always come across the more american version of enchiladas. This is great!!! Tastes authentic, and just how my sister in law(she's hispanic) makes them!. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flaquita
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is as authentic as you can get for Mexican food. I make a very similar recipe, but with a chile verde sauce. You can either dip the tortilla in the oil and then the sauce or vise versa. I prefer to do oil and then sauce, that way I can drain the oil on paper towels without losing any of the sauce. For the sauce, do not drain the water when it's done boiling, use that blend instead of new water. Also, to flavor the sauce, try adding onion and the chicken bullion with tomato flavor--trust me, it makes it taste wonderful! Just throw everything into the blender and blend. You can use whatever dried peppers you have on hand (chile de arbol peppers tend to be more spicier than the other dried varieties). Instead of rolling the tortillas, you can stack or just fold them over (like the picture). Although queso fresco doesn't melt very well, you can't beat the light and delicious flavor. I always use this cheese for my enchiladas. I like to add chopped onions to the filling too. And lastly, before you serve these, pop them in the microwave to melt the cheese a little. My husband, who is Mexican, loves them with either a cheese and onion filling or with cheese, onion, and chicken. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
THIS IS EXACTLY HOW MY MOM MAKES THEM, SHE'S FROM MEXICO. YOU HAVE IT RIGHT. YOU HAVE SOME COMMENTS THAT SAY DRAINING DON'T MAKE SENSE, MAYBE YOU SHOULD EXPLAIN IT SO THEY CAN UNDERSTAND IT. EVEN THOUGH IT MAKES PERFECT SENSE IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOUR DOING..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I am Mexican and can tell you that this recipe is definitely almost exactly how my mother and grandmother makes/made enchiladas. The only difference that I would make is adding monterey jack cheese to the inside rather than the queso fresco and than sprinkling with the top with the queso fresco. I know it doesn't sound very authentic but the montery jack melts nicer and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States