Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Great recipe, not the same old same old.I am a meat lover however i loved this as a main dish. Everyone said it was better than most meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These tasted very authentic, just like mom used to make. For a lot less work and still great taste, I sometimes use the "Las Palmas" red enchilada sauce. Also, while more difficult,they taste better when dipped in the sauce first, then fried in oil since the oil cooks the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was great! It's like an enchilada salad-perfect for spring and summer when regular (American) enchiladas are too heavy and hot. I use the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site and change the assembly process a bit. I simply fry the tortillas (without first dipping in sauce)then place a little of the heated sauce on a plate, roll the cheese into the tortillas and place on the plate, and then top with more sauce and the rest of ingredients as indicated. Frying with the sauce was too splattery for me (I'm not that talented!) but this way I am able to capture the flavors and it is very easy. I love it! I added diced avocado the 2nd time I made it. YUM! This is now my favorite way to eat enchiladas-so fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I loved the sauce, I did add about 2 tsp chicken base and 1 jalapeno to the water for a little kick. I didn't want to fry the torilla so I rubbed a little oil on each side and then heated them up in a pan until crispy. Then I dipped them in sauce (which I didn't drain, I just took out the seeds from the chili's before putting them in the blender) and added the cheese (I mixed the fresco cheese with chedder cheese for more flavor), rolled them, sprinkled them with cheese, and then broiled them on high just until the cheese was melted on top. This is my new favorite red enchilada recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
When I lived in Los Angeles one of my dearest friends was a lovely woman from Mexico who came to my home evenings every week and taught me how to cook authentic Mexican recipes. This recipe was one of my favorites and it is so simple with pure tastes. However, as with everything I touch I add a twist. A gorgeous combination of Arbol and Ancho chiles makes this sauce sing as well as adding a very scant amount of cumin (don't go overboard as this spice packs a punch with its distinct pungency). I also prefer to make my own corn tortillas as it's the simplest thing in the world and you are guaranteed the freshest possible ingredients. By adding a bit of chopped green onion and mild green chiles to the cheese filling you score big points in flavor and still keep the authenticity alive. I tend to like my enchiladas oozing melted cheese, so after I plate them I add a spoonful of sauce a bit more crumbled queso cheese on top and slip it into a hot oven for a few minutes. Add the crema (or sour cream), tomatoes and lettuce and voila, perfection! These are decadent and so wonderful. Also, occasionally try the same recipe without the cheese and substitute spicey chicken and roasted potatoes. Mmmmmmmmmm....soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is sooo good soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These are authentic! My husband is from Mexico and he said they were just like he had at the fiestas and ferias. I love finding real mexican recipes like this. It is not an americanized version of enchiladas, if that is what some may be looking for. These are the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chynna-Destiny

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe. I have tried different ones but this one hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I remember the first time I looked for an enchilada recipe on this site and I thought, who makes enchiladas in a casserole? This of course is how you are supposed to make them. I use my own enchilada sauce and I make my own filling, the queso fresco should only be sprinkled on the top, not used in the filling. Also I don't fry all tortillas at one time and then go back and fill them. I fill them while they're being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States