Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
THIS IS AN AUTHENTIC RECIPE AND GOOD! BUT TRY USING CHIHUAHUA CHEESE INSTEAD "YOU WILL GET IT MORE CHEESY OR TRY THE ORIGINAL MEXICAN COTIJA!FORE A MORE DRIER ENCHILADA. ALSO TRY FRYING YOUR TORTILLA A BIT FIRST THEN DIPPING INTO THE CHILI MIXTURE THEN ADDING YOUR ITEMS TO AVOID LOTS OF SPLATTERS AND UNCALLED FOR GREASE BURNS & BLISTERS! OTHERWISE THIS IS A PERFECT RECIPE AND EVEN MORE WITH SEASONED CHICKEN WITH SAUTED,ONIONS,TOMATOES AND GARLIC TILL A BIT DRY...ADDED TO THE CHEESE WHICH IS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE AND SO SO FILLING!WE EAT THIS REGULARLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Pretty close to the real thing, lacks a little flavor. Here's how my mom makes them. Roast the chilies on a flat grill or pan till they are roasted on all sides, (watch them so they don't burn, this will be quick; brings out the flavor a little more). This shouldn't take long. Immediately soak them in hot water till they are soft. In a blender add the chilies (remove tops and seeds depending on how hot you want it), water (a bit at a time), add onion, garlic, oregano and salt. (the measurements are small, but you will get them down depending on your taste). My mom also adds Masa Harina (the corn meal used to make tamales) to thicken it a little if it is too runny. Strain the mixture into a warm pan to keep hot. The tortillas are fried a little bit first then dipped in the sauce. If you don't want to fry them I have also heated them in a pan or grill till they are slightly crispy. We make our enchiladas as layers so simply piling them on top of each other with layers of cheese, shredded chicken (to the chicken we add a little of the enchilada sauce first), and onions. YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I agree with the other reviewers that the draining of the chiles doesn't make sense. I blended them with the liquid and then strained it back in the sauce pan, put it back on the heat to cook down a bit. Dipping first in the sauce fried out the flavor of the sauce. I also agree that the filling should be a melting cheese like Chihuahua and save the queso fresco for the toping. Over all the flavor was good, but the instructions seem to be missing pieces and vague. Maybe if we could all learn the recipe from her mother in law we'd get it! Thanks for a recipe that is truly mexican in style and not one of those oven baked, drowned in sauce and cheese things most people in the US think of a enchiladas! If you have a mexican grocery in your area, use crema instead of sour cream... lighter and more tangy on the tongue! (Don't forget a few slices of advocado and a sqweeze of lime on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These are authentic! My husband is from Mexico and he said they were just like he had at the fiestas and ferias. I love finding real mexican recipes like this. It is not an americanized version of enchiladas, if that is what some may be looking for. These are the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chynna-Destiny

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These tasted very authentic, just like mom used to make. For a lot less work and still great taste, I sometimes use the "Las Palmas" red enchilada sauce. Also, while more difficult,they taste better when dipped in the sauce first, then fried in oil since the oil cooks the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
When I lived in Los Angeles one of my dearest friends was a lovely woman from Mexico who came to my home evenings every week and taught me how to cook authentic Mexican recipes. This recipe was one of my favorites and it is so simple with pure tastes. However, as with everything I touch I add a twist. A gorgeous combination of Arbol and Ancho chiles makes this sauce sing as well as adding a very scant amount of cumin (don't go overboard as this spice packs a punch with its distinct pungency). I also prefer to make my own corn tortillas as it's the simplest thing in the world and you are guaranteed the freshest possible ingredients. By adding a bit of chopped green onion and mild green chiles to the cheese filling you score big points in flavor and still keep the authenticity alive. I tend to like my enchiladas oozing melted cheese, so after I plate them I add a spoonful of sauce a bit more crumbled queso cheese on top and slip it into a hot oven for a few minutes. Add the crema (or sour cream), tomatoes and lettuce and voila, perfection! These are decadent and so wonderful. Also, occasionally try the same recipe without the cheese and substitute spicey chicken and roasted potatoes. Mmmmmmmmmm....soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Help! I must have done something wrong. The recipe says to drain the water from the chilis which I did but after adding the garlic and salt all I had was a paste. I couldn't dip the torillas in paste. How do you get a liquid if you drain the water. Otherwise the enchiladas weren't too bad but not what I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flaquita
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is as authentic as you can get for Mexican food. I make a very similar recipe, but with a chile verde sauce. You can either dip the tortilla in the oil and then the sauce or vise versa. I prefer to do oil and then sauce, that way I can drain the oil on paper towels without losing any of the sauce. For the sauce, do not drain the water when it's done boiling, use that blend instead of new water. Also, to flavor the sauce, try adding onion and the chicken bullion with tomato flavor--trust me, it makes it taste wonderful! Just throw everything into the blender and blend. You can use whatever dried peppers you have on hand (chile de arbol peppers tend to be more spicier than the other dried varieties). Instead of rolling the tortillas, you can stack or just fold them over (like the picture). Although queso fresco doesn't melt very well, you can't beat the light and delicious flavor. I always use this cheese for my enchiladas. I like to add chopped onions to the filling too. And lastly, before you serve these, pop them in the microwave to melt the cheese a little. My husband, who is Mexican, loves them with either a cheese and onion filling or with cheese, onion, and chicken. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Awesomesauce! I'm glad somebody finally put something like this up. I never heard or ate enchiladas that were baked in a casserole pan and everytime I eat Mexican I refuse to eat enchiladas cuz they're not made the "right" way. LOL. My mom is from mexico too and she taught me to dip flour tortillas in sauce then fry and while frying add ingredients such as cheese, beef/chicken, onions, etc...So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Great recipe, not the same old same old.I am a meat lover however i loved this as a main dish. Everyone said it was better than most meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States