Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Great recipe, not the same old same old.I am a meat lover however i loved this as a main dish. Everyone said it was better than most meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This recipe was surprisingly light. My husband and three teenagers enjoyed it. I need to do better next time on the sauce, it came out somewhat watery. I used the "serve-with" recipe titled "Calabacitas con Queso" by Jyn and it was perfect!! I am going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Help! I must have done something wrong. The recipe says to drain the water from the chilis which I did but after adding the garlic and salt all I had was a paste. I couldn't dip the torillas in paste. How do you get a liquid if you drain the water. Otherwise the enchiladas weren't too bad but not what I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was great! It's like an enchilada salad-perfect for spring and summer when regular (American) enchiladas are too heavy and hot. I use the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site and change the assembly process a bit. I simply fry the tortillas (without first dipping in sauce)then place a little of the heated sauce on a plate, roll the cheese into the tortillas and place on the plate, and then top with more sauce and the rest of ingredients as indicated. Frying with the sauce was too splattery for me (I'm not that talented!) but this way I am able to capture the flavors and it is very easy. I love it! I added diced avocado the 2nd time I made it. YUM! This is now my favorite way to eat enchiladas-so fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I was looking for somthing to do with a bag of chile de arbol peppers and was quite pleased with this recipe. I agreed with the other reviewer on, how do drained peppers, garlic and salt make a sauce. So I did not drain the water from the peppers. After making the adjustment, I would give it 4 stars. Good summer recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
THIS IS AN AUTHENTIC RECIPE AND GOOD! BUT TRY USING CHIHUAHUA CHEESE INSTEAD "YOU WILL GET IT MORE CHEESY OR TRY THE ORIGINAL MEXICAN COTIJA!FORE A MORE DRIER ENCHILADA. ALSO TRY FRYING YOUR TORTILLA A BIT FIRST THEN DIPPING INTO THE CHILI MIXTURE THEN ADDING YOUR ITEMS TO AVOID LOTS OF SPLATTERS AND UNCALLED FOR GREASE BURNS & BLISTERS! OTHERWISE THIS IS A PERFECT RECIPE AND EVEN MORE WITH SEASONED CHICKEN WITH SAUTED,ONIONS,TOMATOES AND GARLIC TILL A BIT DRY...ADDED TO THE CHEESE WHICH IS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE AND SO SO FILLING!WE EAT THIS REGULARLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This meal was so very bland. My family loves Mexican food but asked me not to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These tasted very authentic, just like mom used to make. For a lot less work and still great taste, I sometimes use the "Las Palmas" red enchilada sauce. Also, while more difficult,they taste better when dipped in the sauce first, then fried in oil since the oil cooks the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I agree with the other reviewers that the draining of the chiles doesn't make sense. I blended them with the liquid and then strained it back in the sauce pan, put it back on the heat to cook down a bit. Dipping first in the sauce fried out the flavor of the sauce. I also agree that the filling should be a melting cheese like Chihuahua and save the queso fresco for the toping. Over all the flavor was good, but the instructions seem to be missing pieces and vague. Maybe if we could all learn the recipe from her mother in law we'd get it! Thanks for a recipe that is truly mexican in style and not one of those oven baked, drowned in sauce and cheese things most people in the US think of a enchiladas! If you have a mexican grocery in your area, use crema instead of sour cream... lighter and more tangy on the tongue! (Don't forget a few slices of advocado and a sqweeze of lime on top!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
We used the real mexican tortias and it made them so much better than the flour tortias in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States